- Find Information
- Research Guides
- DEVONthink for Mac
DEVONthink for Mac
Accessing DT Features & Keyboard Shortcuts
| Action |
How to |
|
Create New Database |
Top Menu –> File -> New Database |
|
Change View Settings |
Top Menu -> View |
|
Open Database |
Top Menu -> File -> Open Database |
|
Close Database |
Top Menu -> File -> Close Database |
|
Import Files |
Drag and Drop from Finder or Top Menu -> File -> Import -> Files and Folders |
|
Adding OCR to imported PDF |
Select PDFs -> right-click -> OCR -> To Searchable PDF or Select PDFs -> Top Menu -> Data -> to searchable PDF |
|
Add Pages to unpaged PDF |
Select PDFs -> right-click -> Convert -> To PDF (Paginated) or Select PDFs-> Top Menu -> Data -> Convert -> to PDF (Paginated) |
|
Create Group |
In Database Right-click -> New Group or Top Menu -> Data -> New Group |
|
Move Files |
Select files -> click and drag Right-click -> Move to -> “Location” |
|
Create Smart Groups |
In Database Right-click -> New Smart Group or Top Menu->Data->New->Smart Group |
|
Add Tags |
@Right sidebar (when enabled) Tags Section -> + symbol -> add tag term |
|
Find Tags |
@Left Sidebar Global -> Tags -> Database_Name |
|
Delete Tags |
@Right sidebar Tags Section -> Right-click -> Remove Tag |
|
Tag Multiple Items |
Select Multiple Items -> Right Sidebar -> Tags-> + |
|
Add notes to PDF |
Open PDF -> Top Menu -> Tools -> Annotate -> Note |
|
Return to Normal Text Highlighting Mode |
Top Menu -> Tools -> Mode -> Text Selection |
|
Add Note Files to any File |
Top Menu -> Tools -> Inspectors -> Annotations and Reminders |
|
Search |
Click next to the magnifying glass icon in the Toolbar -> enter text |
|
Advanced Search |
Search box -> press enter -> Add advanced search parameters |
| Change View Options |
Top Menu -> View -> Sidebar, preview options |
| Change to Note-taking Mode |
Top Menu -> Annotate -> Note |
| Change to Normal Text Selection |
Top Menu -> Mode -> Text Selection |
| Merge Documents |
Top Menu -> Tools -> Merge Documents |
| Split PDF/Documents |
Top Menu -> Tools -> Split PDF or Split Documents |
| Resize any area |
Navigate to the border of any region till you see “ |
| Change Various DT3 Options |
Top Menu -> DEVONthink 3 -> Preferences |
| Edit Marks (Labels) Colors/Text |
Top Menu -> DEVONthink 3 -> Preferences -> Colors |
” then click and drag| Function | Key Combination |
|
Duplicate Item to another location |
Option + Drag |
|
Replicate to another location |
Command + Option + Drag |
|
Select Multiple contiguous documents |
Shift + Click |
|
Select Multiple discontiguous documents |
Command + Click |
|
Open a hyperlink in the background |
Command + Click |
|
Open a hyperlink in the foreground |
Command + Shift + Click |
|
Create a link from one DT document to another (rich text) document |
Command + Option + drag from the first document into the second |
|
Open Search in Document |
Command + N |
|
Go to the first file, or group beginning with the letter |
Control + (letter) |
|
Select All |
Command + A |
|
Quit DT3 |
Command + Q |
|
Close Current Window |
Command + W |
|
Refresh DT3 |
Command + R |
|
Open Fonts List |
Command + T |
|
Print Selection |
Command + A |
|
Copy |
Command + C |
|
Paste |
Command + V |
|
Update all Indexed Files |
Command + N |