State and Federal (Supreme Court, U.S. Appellate, U.S. District) case law decisions (no state trial courts, no jury trials); State and Federal Codes, Regulations and Constitutions; law reviews; Shepardizing; as well as extensive U.S. and int'l news and business sources. Check All Sources Directory for complete list of available sources and date ranges. Updated daily.
Create a free Nexis Uni profile in order to access personal folders, alerts, and a collaborative workspace.
Online courses on using Nexis Uni. You can sign up for a live webinar session or scroll to the bottom of the page for pre-recorded classes. Sessions are presented by LexisNexis instructors. Webinars are free and open to anyone but only current UTSA students, faculty or staff can log on to Nexis Uni. Courses through WebEx.
> Shepard's provides a comprehensive case citation and treatment history to verify the validity of case law, statutes, agency opinion, and other legal document.
> Any U.S. federal or state case can be Shepardized in Nexis Uni
> Links to Summary, prior history, subsequent history, treatment, and law review references.
> After finding case record click on "Shepardize this Document" on the right or click on the target symbol next to the name.
Access to full text information from and about the U.S. Congress: congressional publications; bill tracking and full text of bills; legislative histories; federal regulations; members and committees; voting records. Updated daily. (1789-current)
(via EBSCO) Indexes and abstracts journal articles in criminology and related disciplines from 1968 to the present. Includes extensive coverage of books as well as reports from government and non-government agencies. Updated quarterly.
CCH IntelliConnect, from Wolters Kluwer CCH, formerly CCH Tax Research Network, is a comprehensive database of primary and secondary sources related to taxation in the U.S. Its primary sources include: current IRS Code, Federal Tax Regulations, Federal Tax Cases, IRS Administrative Rulings, Letter Rulings and Memorandum, etc. Its secondary sources include editorial matters prepared by Wolters Kluwer which explain the primary source content. In addition, CCH IntelliConnect also contains federal and state laws and regulations, case law, forms, manuals, and news reports concerning health care and human resources.
Extensive collection of historical legislative, executive, and judicial publications on the federal, state, and territorial levels as well as foreign legal materials. All documents are available full text in PDF. Date range: 14th-21st centuries. Title List (.xls).
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases. Note: Temporary access to this resource will remain available until December 15, 2020.
Law reviews & journals are an excellent start to exploring a legal topic.
Nexis Uni contains the full text of 450 law school reviews and law journals. Links are provided to the full text of the cases mentioned.
Limit to Law Reviews & Journal under drop down menu or use law reviews menu.
U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services. Search for Federal and State agency forms by agency including for taxes, social security, veterans' benefits, FEMA, etc.
Full text legal self-help and reference ebooks to assist the general public in legal matters from Nolo Publishing. Includes thousands of state-specific downloadable legal forms for all 50 states searchable by topic. Updated regularly.