- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Paralegal 1 and 2 Classes
Paralegal 1 and 2 Classes
Databases, Webinars and Resources for Paralegal Students
Reference Librarian
Paralegal Program
Acknowledgment
This guide was originally created by Rita Wilson (1948-2024), UTSA Government Documents librarian for 27 years and liaison for Anthropology, Spanish and Modern Languages, Geography, Criminology, and Paralegal Studies.
Nexis Uni Database Overview
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowExtensive coverage of news, legal and business sources. Contains full text U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast transcripts, newswires; company, industry and financial information including Company Dossier, and legal sources for U.S. Federal and State case law, statutes, regulations and law reviews. Create a free profile (optional) to save searches and set up alerts. Updated daily. Coverage: 1975-current.
Legal section of Nexis Uni contains:
State and Federal (Supreme Court, U.S. Appellate, U.S. District) case law decisions (no state trial courts, no jury trials); State and Federal Codes, Regulations and Constitutions; law reviews; Shepardizing for all cases; as well as extensive U.S. and int'l news and business sources. Check All Sources Directory for complete list of available sources and date ranges. Updated daily.
- Nexis Uni: Learn the Fundamentals of Searching and Results—Level 1Useful online tutorial from LexisNexis, At the conclusion of this course you may request a certificate of completion.
- Nexis Uni: Learn the ABCs of Legal Research—Level 1:Useful online tutorial from LexisNexis, At the conclusion of this course you may request a certificate of completion.
- Nexis Uni: Learn the Key Components of News Research— Level 2Useful online tutorial from LexisNexis, At the conclusion of this course you may request a certificate of completion.
- Nexis Uni Instruction WebinarsFree online tutorials on using Nexis Uni taught by LexisNexis instructors. You can sign up for a live webinar session or access previously recorded classes. Webinars are freely available to anyone but only current UTSA students, faculty or staff can log in to Nexis Uni.
Courses streamed via WebEx.
Legal Reference Sources in Nexis Uni
> Ballentine's Law Dictionary (3rd edition)
> Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary
> Attorney’s Dictionary of Patent Claims
> Attorney’s Dictionary of Medicine
> Intellectual Property Law Dictionary
Creating a Permalink to an Article or Case in Nexis Uni:
Go to Actions > Link to This Page > Copy the Permalink
Key Legal Resources
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowState and Federal (Supreme Court, U.S. Appellate, U.S. District) case law decisions (no state trial courts, no jury trials); State and Federal Codes, Regulations and Constitutions; law reviews; Shepardizing; as well as extensive U.S. and int'l news and business sources. Check All Sources Directory for complete list of available sources and date ranges. Updated daily.
Create a free Nexis Uni profile in order to access personal folders, alerts, and a collaborative workspace.
- Nexis Uni Instruction WebinarsFree online tutorials on using Nexis Uni taught by LexisNexis instructors. You can sign up for a live webinar session or access previously recorded classes. Webinars are freely available to anyone but only current UTSA students, faculty or staff can log in to Nexis Uni.
Courses streamed via WebEx.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowShepardizing
> Shepard's provides a comprehensive case citation and treatment history to verify the validity of case law, statutes, agency opinion, and other legal document.
> Any U.S. federal or state case can be Shepardized in Nexis Uni
> Links to Summary, prior history, subsequent history, treatment, and law review references.
> After finding case record click on "Shepardize this Document" on the right or click on the target symbol next to the name.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text information from and about the U.S. Congress: congressional publications; bill tracking and full text of bills; legislative histories; federal regulations; members and committees; voting records. Updated daily. (1789-current)
- Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index of scholarship in criminal justice and criminology and related disciplines. Indexes scholarly journals as well as books and reports from government and non-government agencies. Date coverage:1968 - current. Updated quarterly.
- CCH AnswerConnect This link opens in a new windowCCH AnswerConnect, from Wolters Kluwer CCH, formerly CCH Tax Research Network, is a comprehensive database of primary and secondary sources related to taxation in the U.S. Its primary sources include: current IRS Code, Federal Tax Regulations, Federal Tax Cases, IRS Administrative Rulings, Letter Rulings and Memorandum, etc. Its secondary sources include editorial matters prepared by Wolters Kluwer which explain the primary source content. In addition, CCH AnswerConnect also contains federal and state laws and regulations, case law, forms, manuals, and news reports concerning health care and human resources.
Users must click the blue "Subscribers: Log in here" button in the top right corner of the webpage to access the database. - CQ Almanac This link opens in a new windowDetailed analysis and data on the major activities and legislation of the U.S. Congress for each session. 1945-present
- LLMC Digital This link opens in a new windowExtensive collection of digitized historical legal material and government documents. Includes publications of state, federal, and territorial governments of the U.S, as well as foreign and international legal and government materials and indigenous law. All documents are available full text in PDF. Date range: 14th-21st centuries. Title List.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowLaw reviews & journals are an excellent start to exploring a legal topic.
Nexis Uni contains the full text of 500 law school reviews and law journals. Links are provided to the full text of the cases mentioned.
Limit to Law Reviews & Journal under drop down menu or use law reviews menu. - Legal Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of the discipline of law and legal topics in law journals, scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. 1887-current
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications and news sources covering all academic areas of study including a large number of law reviews.
- USA.gov This link opens in a new windowU.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services. Search for Federal and State agency forms by agency including for taxes, social security, veterans' benefits, FEMA, etc.
- Commonly Requested Legal FormsTexas State Law Library Research Guide listing sources for legal forms.
- TexasLawHelp.orgProgram of the Texas Legal Services Center (TLSC), a non-profit law office founded in 1977 to expand availability of legal services for low-income Texans.
- Texas State Law Library Research GuidesTopical guides compiled by reference librarians at the Texas State Law Library.
- Texas Legal Forms Library (Gale) This link opens in a new windowTexas legal forms in Word format including description on use for each form. Searchable or browsable by category, including contracts, wills, landlord tenant, real estate, small business, and taxes. Updated continuously.
- Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFull text legal self-help and reference ebooks to assist the general public in legal matters from Nolo Publishing. Includes thousands of state-specific downloadable legal forms for all 50 states searchable by topic. Updated regularly.
- FindLawContains resources and internet links for both State and Federal codes and constitutions. Availability of historic materials varies by State.
Nexis Uni Online Webinars
- Nexis Uni Instruction WebinarsFree online tutorials on using Nexis Uni taught by LexisNexis instructors. You can sign up for a live webinar session or access previously recorded classes. Webinars are freely available to anyone but only current UTSA students, faculty or staff can log in to Nexis Uni.
Courses streamed via WebEx.
Selected tutorials available (lengths vary from 5 minutes to one hour) Access using database above.
- Overview of NexisUni
- Why Use NexisUni?: An Overview of Key Content & Feature
- Using Citation Management Tools in NexisUni
- Searching Law Reviews and Journals by Title
- Searching Statutes by Citation
- Segment/Field Searching
- Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni...Environmental Social and Governance (ESG) Resource
- Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni...Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports & Primary Sources in U.S. Presidential
- Searching Secondary Resources
- Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni - Zacks Equity Research & Reuters Knowledge Direct-
- The ABCs of Conducting Legal Research
- Searching SEC Filings
- 280 Million Profiles: Up Close and Personal with Dossier
- I Am Just A Bill…Did I Make It Off My State’s Capitol Hill?
- Using the Advanced Search Form
- Searching by Length of the Article
- Searching Transcripts by Show
- Searching News by Journalist
- Searching News by Foreign Language
CSRHub ESG Ratings
Hidden Gems on Nexis Uni Environmental Social and Governance (ESG)
Citing
>>> Citation Management Tools on Nexis Uni (4 minutes) (Session Recorded October 12, 2022)
List updated: 11/23/2022
Handouts and Guides for UTSA Paralegal Class
Nexis Uni Tip Sheets from LexisNexis
Help Sheets prepared by LexisNexis:
Nexis Uni YouTube Tutorials (LexisNexis)
- Nexis Uni: Searching from the Home Page (3 minutes)Using Boolean connectors (and, or, w/5) and filtering options when conducting a search.
- Nexis Uni: How to Use Advanced Search Form (4 minutes)Different search options when using the advanced search form.