- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Legal Resources and Research
Legal Resources and Research
Federal & Texas Legal Sources
Texas State Case Law Online
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window> The Texas case law includes the Supreme Court of Texas (1840-current), the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals (1876-current) and the Texas Court of Civil Appeals and the Texas Court of Appeals (1892-current).
> Contains unpublished decisions of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals (January 2004-current)
> The Federal case law section includes the U.S. Supreme Court, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, as well as the U.S. District Court and Bankruptcy Courts for the State of Texas.
- Supreme Court of TexasOfficial website. Contains opinions/orders. Search by case, opinion, oral arguments, and briefs (when filed) and rules & Standards. Contains links to each of the Texas appellate courts. Coverage: October 1997-current.
Reports of the State of Texas Courts in Print
NOTE: The print South Western Reporter is produced by West Publishing. The online Nexis Uni is produced by LexisNexis (Reed Elsevier). While the case opinions reported are identical, annotations and other supplementary materials will differ.
- South Western Reporter Texas Cases, 3d Series (West)(offsite) KFT 1255 .S71 (v. 1 2000-2016) (no longer received)
Record of appellate courts of Texas. - South Western Reporter Texas Cases, 2d Series (West)(offsite) KFT 1255 .S7 (v.1 1928-present)
Record of appellate courts of Texas. - Texas Decisions Reported in the South Western Reporter(offsite) KFT 1255 .S69 (v.1-282 1886-1928)
- West’s Texas Digest, 1st Series (Texas Digest, 1840 to Date)Location: (offsite) KFT1257 .T4 (v. 2-v. 42, Descriptive Word Index A-Z, Table of Cases A-Z, Words and Phrases A-Z)
Encyclopedic arrangement of Texas Court cases and principles law applied there. Uses West key number digest system. - West’s Texas Digest, 2d SeriesLocation: (offsite) KFT1257 .T42 (v. 1 - v. 69, Descriptive Word Index A-Z, Table of Cases A-Z, Words and Phrases A-Z) (no longer received)
Covers state and federal cases decided since 1935. Encyclopedic arrangement of Texas Court cases and principles law applied there. Uses West key number digest system. - Texas Reports: Opinions of the Supreme Court of TexasCeased publication 1962.
1847-1903 free online from the Portal to Texas History - Texas Subsequent History Table (West)(2nd Floor Permanent Reserve) 2014
Provides review information (dismissed, denied, or refused) for Texas Court of Appeals opinions reported in the South Western Reporter, 1st series, from volume 20 and later. Vols. supplemented weekly by the cumulative table in West's Texas cases advance sheets.
Texas Courts
- Texas Judicial BranchThe portal to Texas Judicial information. Links to court structure, court rules & standards, resource materials, and judicial ethics, as well as Texas Appellate and Texas Trial courts.
- State Bar of TexasThe fifth largest organization of lawyers in the U.S. The State Bar Act, adopted by the Legislature in 1939, mandates that all attorneys licensed to practice law in Texas be members of the State Bar. Site includes an attorney search, information on selecting a lawyer along with background information on the Texas legal system.
Republic of Texas
- A Digest of the Laws of Texas : Containing a Full and Complete Compilation of the Land Laws : together with the opinions of the Supreme CourtPortal to Texas History
James Wilmer Dallam
Microfilm: JPL 4th Floor Microfilm Cabinet: F381 .T4 reel 37, no. 1577
Cases are also included in the Texas State section in Nexis Uni
The Supreme Court of the Republic of Texas met from 1840 to 1845. Opinions of this court were originally published in newspapers but were later gathered in Dallam's Digest for 1840-1844. - “Missing Cases of the Republic” 65 TEX. L. REV. 237-468 (1986)Compiled by James W. Paulsen.
Decisions of the Texas Supreme Court (Republic of Texas) for 1845. - Texas Constitution Digitization ProjectTwelve versions of Texas Constitutions dating from 1824-1876. Includes search engine.
- Republic of Texas 1836Boundaries map