- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Civil Rights in Texas
Civil Rights in Texas
A guide to primary and secondary sources for the study of the history of civil rights in Texas, arranged thematically and regionally.
Related Guide
Librarian
This research guide was created with the collaboration of Associate Professor Scott Sherer and the students in his "Exhibiting Civil Rights" course, Summer 2013. The students' research was used in The Struggle for Civil Rights in Texas, an exhibit at the Institute of Texan Cultures, January 11 - May 4, 2014.
Additional thanks to fellow research guide collaborators Juli McLoone, Amy Rushing, Tara Schmidt and Rita Wilson.
Texas Handbook Online
- Handbook of Texas OnlineThe Handbook of Texas Online is the best starting point for information about the history of Texas. Features special section on African American Texas. Most articles are followed by a brief list of references.
#BlackLivesMatter
- #BlackLivesMatter: Critical Perspectives (Documenting a 2016 UTSA course offering)A digital archive of course content by spring 2016 seminar students at the University of Texas at San Antonio. The course was designed to critically examine the sociocultural and historical contexts of the #BlackLivesMatter and #CharlestonSyllabus movements. Includes background information on the movement, the course syllabus, learning modules, student projects, and more.
Selected Books
Click a title to check its availability.
- African Americans in Texas: Historical & Cultural Legacies byCall Number: E185.93 .T4 A37 1998
- Bricks Without Straw: A Comprehensive History of African Americans in Texas byCall Number: E185.93.T4 B74 1997
- Blacks on the Borders: African-Americans' Transition from Slavery to Freedom in Texas and the Indian Territory, 1836-1907 byCall Number: E185.93 .T4 K73 2000
Exploring the Afro-Texas Experience: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources About Black Texans by Call Number: E185.93 .T4 G55 2000JPL 4th Floor Special Collections Rare Books
This bibliography includes material on African-American history, folkways, fiction, films, and politics in Texas.
The African American Experience in Texas by Call Number: E185.93.T4 A38 2007
The African Texans by Call Number: E185.93 .T4 B36 2004
The Dance of Freedom: Texas African Americans during Reconstruction by Call Number: E185.93.T4 C75 2007
Freedom Colonies: Independent Black Texans in the Time of Jim Crow by Call Number: E185.93.T4 S47 2005
Reaping a Greater Harvest: African Americans, the Extension Service, and Rural Reform in Jim Crow Texas by Call Number: S544.3.T4 R45 2007
The Mexican Texans by Call Number: F395.M5 M38 2004
No Mexicans, Women, or Dogs Allowed: The Rise of the Mexican American Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: E184.M5 O775 2009
Redeeming la Raza: Transborder Modernity, Race, Respectability, and Rights by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 2018
The U. S.-Mexico Border: The Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo by Call Number: F786 .D375 2004
The Struggle in Black and Brown: African American and Mexican American Relations during the Civil Rights Era by Call Number: E185.61 .S9148 2011Also available as an e-book
