- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Legal Resources and Research
Legal Resources and Research
Federal & Texas Legal Sources
U.S. Constitution
- Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationRegularly updated online version of the Constitution Annotated from Congress.gov
Also see current and historical versions through govinfo.gov
The Constitution is the landmark legal document of the United States & comprises the primary law of the U.S. Federal Government. Includes the Constitution with annotations for historic Supreme Court cases, along with laws declared unconstitutional. - Charters of FreedomFrom the National Archives, Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, U.S. Constitution. Background and history, images.
- Bill of Rights: A Documentary History (2 volumes)Location: JPL 3rd Floor KF4527 .U54 1996
Legal Dictionaries
Legal Reference Sources in Nexis Uni
> Ballentine's Law Dictionary (3rd edition)
> Wolters Kluwer Bouvier Law Dictionary
> Attorney’s Dictionary of Patent Claims
> Attorney’s Dictionary of Medicine
> Intellectual Property Law Dictionary
- English-Spanish, Spanish-English Legal DictionaryLocation: Downtown Library K52.S6 K36 2008
- Oran's Dictionary of the LawLocation: Downtown Library KF156 .O69
Also online
General legal dictionary written for both lawyers and non-lawyers. - New Oxford Companion to LawOnline: Oxford Reference 2008
Legal Encyclopedias
- CQ Supreme Court Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides access to reference resources on topics in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Congress, Public Affairs, Voting and Elections, and Supreme Court collections, as well as Encyclopedia of American Government. Also includes CQ Political Reference Suite titles: Congress and the Nation, Political Handbook of the World, Historic Documents Series, Washington Information Directory, and Politics in America. Collections may contain dictionary or encyclopedia entries, image galleries, and maps in addition to full text.
Guides to Legal Research
- Guide to Law OnlineAn annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. Prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division.
- How To Research A Legal Problem: A Guide for Non-LawyersFree online guide from the American Association of Law Libraries
- Doing Legal Research: A Guide for Social Scientists And Mental Health ProfessionalsSage Research Methods
- Legal Research: How to Find and Understand the LawLocation: Downtown KF240 .E35 2007
- How Our Laws are MadeBy John V. Sullivan, Parliamentarian,
U.S. House of Representatives. From Congress.gov - Enactment of A Law: Learn About the Legislative Processby Robert B. Dove, Parliamentarian, U.S. Senate
- How a Bill Becomes a Law (High School version)Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives
Legal Directories
- State Court OrganizationU.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics
Presents detailed comparative data by State trial and appellate courts in the United States. Diagrams of court structure summarize the key features of each State's court organization. - Find a LawyerFindLaw Lawyer Directory, featuring detailed profiles of attorneys from across the United States.
