Finding Full Text for References
EndNote can search databases and find full text copies of references if the articles are:
- Freely available/open access
- Available through UTSA subscriptions and the database containing the article includes proper metadata
When run, the Find Full Text feature will automatically attach copies of the articles to their corresponding entry in your EndNote Desktop library.
*** Due to varying nature of databases EndNote will not be able to locate every PDF, even if access is available through UTSA Libraries and sometimes EndNote will only retrieve a URL, from which you must download the PDF and attach manually as shown here - Attach a PDF Manually ***
To enable the Find Full Text feature:
Open the Preferences menu
PC - in the menu bar, go to Edit > Preferences
Mac - in the menu bar, go to EndNote X9 >Preference
Choose Find Full Text
Make sure Web of Science, DOI, PubMed, and OpenURL are selected.
Enter the OpenURL Path for UTSA Libraries
Enter the Authenticate with URL for UTSA Libraries:
Check the box next to "Automatically invoke..." if you would like to run Find Full Text automatically for every item you import
Click Apply then OK
Note - The first time, and occasionally on subsequent uses, the Find Full Text feature is used, an authentication window will appear. You can login using your abc123 information
To Find Full Text for a reference:
Highlight the reference(s) with missing full text attachments
To select all references, click Edit then Select All or press Ctrl+A
Click the Find Full Text icon in the toolbar -OR- right-click then select Find Full Text > Find Full Text -OR- Select References in the menu bar then select Find Full Text > Find Full Text
Under the Find Full Text heading in the My Library pane, you will see these headings: Searching, Found PDF, Found URL, Not Found.
These groups will indicate the number of PDFs and URLs found once the search has completed, and by selecting each group you can see which references were or were not found
A paperclip icon next to selected references indicates that the full text has been attached to the record