EndNote for PC

Guide for Endnote PC users.

Search & Find Full Text in Endnote

All of the citations in your library are searchable in Endnote. To search for citations:

  1. Go to Quick Search at the top of the screen. Search any word in the citation. 

OR

  1. Click Show Search Panel at the top right of the screen. Enter your search terms; you can select different fields from the drop down and set limits like Match Case or Search Whole Library. 
  2. Click Search and all matching citations in your library will pop up.

Ideally, UTSA students and faculty would be able to search library databases within EndNote. Unfortunately, Endnote's connection files are not encrypted, so it's often necessary to search databases first, export the citations and do a manual attach of the PDF. Sites that are freely available, though, like Library of Congress, PubMed, or WorldCat, can be searched from within Endnote.

Online & Integrated Library & Online Search Modes

  1. In the tool bar at the top left side of the screen, select either Online Search (resulting citations are not placed in your local library) or Integrated and Online Library Search (results are placed in the 'Unfiled' folder in your local library .')
  2. In the Online Seach pane on the left side of the screen, select a database to search. (Note: There is a problem with the authentication process and you will not be able to access most UTSA subscription databases within Endnote. However, you will be able to retrieve results from open access databases like PubMed and WorldCat.)
  3. Your search will change to Search Remote Library.
  4. Click Search.
  5. The Confirm Online Search box will appear with the total number of results 
  6. There is not a way to preview the results, so you will need to sort through them to determine whether you want to keep them.

Once you have references in your library, you can attach PDFs manually. However, EndNote can also search databases and find full text for references IF:

  • The articles are freely available. 
  • Endnote can 'talk' to the database and read the DOIs or Accession Numbers from the records.

If Endnote is unable to find the full text, it will provide a Found URL, though most direct exports from library databases will, too.

To use 'Find Full Text:'

  1. Go to Edit, Preferences, then choose Find Full Text.
  2. Make sure Web of Science, DOI, PubMed, and OpenURL are selected.
  3. Enter the Open URL path for UTSA Libraries: http://uq5sd9vt7m.search.serialssolutions.com/ 
  4. Enter the Authenticate URL for UTSA Libraries: https://login.libweb.lib.utsa.edu/login?url
  5. Click 'Apply' then 'OK.'
  6. Highlight the references for which you need to Find Full Text. To select all references, click 'Edit' then "Select All" (Ctrl+A).
  7. Click the "Find Full Text" icon or go to 'References' then select 'Find Full Text.'
  8. The "Find Full Text' authenticate window will appear.  Enter your myUTSA username and passphrase.
  9. Under the "Find Full Text" heading in the "My Library" pane, you will see these headings: Searching, Found PDF, Found URL, Not Found. As EndNote searches the for the full text for the selected references, these subheadings will indicate the number of PDFs and URLs found . 
  10. A paperclip icon will appear next to selected references indicating that the full text has been attached to the record.
Loading ...