Latin American Studies

Search by keyword or browse by subject to find substantive scholarly peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics related to Latin American history. Each article includes extensive notes, a discussion of the literature in the field, links to digital materials, and a list for further reading. Regularly updated.

A database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.

Selectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.

Selectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature of world history from 1450 to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For U.S. and Canadian history see America: History and Life.

Indexes and abstracts thousands of international journals in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy.

PAIS, Public Affairs Information Service, indexes issues in the public debate through selective coverage of publications from more than 120 countries. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical information, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on a variety of subjects.

An essential comprehensive bibliography of citations to scholarly works in Latin American Humanities and Social Sciences selected and annotated by scholars. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Primarily in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, among other languages. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. 1936-present. Updated monthly.

DNSA contains a wealth of declassified primary documents relating to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945 obtained through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Divided into more than 50 collections on Cuba, Mexico, South and Central America, Afghanistan, the former Soviet Union, South Africa, Iran, China, Korea, Vietnam, and other areas. Documents include memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, and confidential letters. Also see National Security Archive homepage for Unredacted (blog) and news postings.

Full image historical and primary source documents from Mexico (including Texas/Tejas), Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, maps, diaries, historical newspapers & monographs, pamphlets, Department of State diplomatic records and more. Collected from archives in U.S. and Europe. Materials in English, Spanish, Portuguese and other languages.

A collection of 19th and early 20th century digitized newspapers from Latin America. Includes titles published in English, Spanish, and Portuguese from more than 20 countries in the region, from Argentina to Venezuela. Coverage: 1805-1922.

A collection of hundreds of searchable full-text / full-image newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics during the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers may be in Spanish, English, or both Spanish and English. Based on Nicolás Kanellos' "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project."

A growing collection of newspapers from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods providing rare documentation of the dramatic events including partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Collection will eventually contain over 1,000 titles. (1807-1929)

Search the full-text/full-image of several major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2019), Washington Post (1877-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), Guardian (1821-2003) Observer (1791-2003), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), and the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), El Paso Times (1881-2009), El Paso Herald (1896-1996). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.

Provides full-text access to newspapers from urban to rural regions, large cities to small towns across the U.S. Includes newspapers published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and others. Coverage: 1800-1899.

Searchable full image access to many historical newspapers from all across Texas, including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). (Some years are incomplete.) Database covers 1813-2022.

Comprehensive full image coverage of U.S. Congressional publications 1789-present, Updated daily. Hearings (1824-present); Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS) (1916-present); House and Senate Documents/Reports (1817-present); Legislative Histories (1969-current); Bills & Laws (1776-present); Vote Reports (1987-present); Historical Maps & Images (1789-2007); Congressional Record (daily and bound versions) (1789-present); Regulations; Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations; Presidential Executive Orders.
Member profiles, committee assignments, financial disclosure statements and voting records.

Searchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.

Searchable full-text and full-image versions of scholarly journals and e-books from university presses and scholarly societies. Subject areas include the humanities, social sciences, math, and science.

Search periodicals in the humanities and social sciences including disciplines such as anthropology, area studies, economics, education, history, linguistics and philology, literature, music and the performing arts, and sociology, among others. Covers publications from the 15th century to the present. Includes full-text articles in languages other than English, with significant offerings in Spanish, French, and German.

Contains major full-text reference resources on African American and African history and culture, including "Encyclopedia of African American History"; and the "African American National Biography", as well as articles from other major reference sources. Only a few people can use this database at one time.

Provides full-text access to nearly 5,500 major works in the humanities from over 250 publishers. Approximately 500 new books are added annually.

Indexing and significant full-text linkage to articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and books. Includes materials published worldwide in a variety of languages about Central and South America, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border region, and U.S. Hispanics. Focus is Social Sciences and Humanities. 1967-present

Provides full-text access to articles in scholarly journals from Latin America, Spain, and Portugal.

An essential comprehensive bibliography of citations to scholarly works in Latin American Humanities and Social Sciences selected and annotated by scholars. Includes books, book chapters, journal articles, and conference proceedings published worldwide. Primarily in English, Spanish, or Portuguese, among other languages. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. 1936-present. Updated monthly.

Comprehensive multidisciplinary, multilingual source for articles in scholarly and professional journals, magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings and more. All subjects.
Coverage: 1867-current. Updated daily

Offers indexing/abstracting to articles in over 3,300 journals across a wide range of subject areas, more than 1,700 of which are also available in full text. Subject strengths include the arts and humanities, business, education, health, international studies, law, literature, multicultural studies, psychology, the sciences, and the social sciences.

Provides access to over 200 pdf e-books from CQ Press. The Advanced Search option enables users to search by keyword across all online titles. Includes titles dealing with the presidency, Congress, elections, public policy, the judiciary, and more.

Provides full-text access to journals published by Sage on topics in sociology, including contemporary and comparative sociology, consumer culture, childhood, classical sociology, ethnic studies, gender studies, labor studies, and social theory.

Focuses on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, indexing and abstracting thousands of titles including journals, conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Indexes and abstracts thousands of journals in all subdisciplines of sociology, many in full text. Also includes full-text books, monographs, and conference papers. Topics include anthropology, criminal justice, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, social work, and urban studies, among others. Coverage for some "core" titles begins in the early 1880s, but most coverage begins in the late 1990s.

Provides bibliographic citations to materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants from 1992 onwards. Selectively indexes content from journals, newspapers, books, book chapters and more. Subjects covered include art, bilingual education, education, health, labor, language, literature, mental health, and politics.

Indexes and abstracts over 30,000 scholarly publications from 200 academic and professional publishers. Some links to full text are provided; however, most full-text articles are fee-based and paid for by the patron. Patrons are encouraged to contact the UTSA Library Reference staff for local holdings or to use Get It For Me to borrow materials from other libraries.

Statistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.

Provides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.

Cross-searchable collection of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a wide-range of disciplines for background information. Formerly known as Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Cross-searchable and browsable full-text dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, and Oxford Companions in a variety of disciplines, including the natural sciences, social sciences, humanities, and arts.