- Find Information
- Research Guides
- History of Mexico
History of Mexico
Use this guide to find primary and secondary sources for the study of all periods of Mexican history.
- Getting Started
- Selected Books
- Rare Books & Manuscripts
- Archival & Digital Collections
- Ancient Mesoamerica
- Mexican Cookbooks
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Subjects: Art & Art History, History, Languages, Modern, Newspapers
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For world history, see Historical Abstracts.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts the scholarly literature of world history from 1450 to the present. Includes citations to journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations. Also includes useful features such as the ability to search by historical time period. For U.S. and Canadian history see America: History and Life.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearchable full-text and full-image backfiles of scholarly journals, as well as e-books, and primary resources. Subject areas include the arts, humanities, social sciences, science, math, and business. Includes the Artstor Digital Library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowA database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.
- Chicano Database (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes materials, including more than 125 journals, on Mexican-American topics and about Chicanos from 1967 to the present. Incorporates the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, an indexing and abstracting resource covering psychological, sociological, and educational literature. From 1992 on includes the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Primary Source Databases
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 1 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowFeatures digitized historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Includes more than 1,100 digitized historical books, as well as Hispanic newspapers, political and religious pamphlets, and essays.
Also called: Latino-Hispanic American Experience Series 1
- Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection, Series 2 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowThe Latino-Hispanic American Experience: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers: contains a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, civil rights, religious thought, and growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains over 250,000 pages of personal and archival manuscript collections, 3000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, and hundreds of rare books. Content is drawn from the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project”.
Also called: Latino-Hispanic American Experience Series 2
- World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean (Historical Collections) (Gale) This link opens in a new windowFull image historical and primary source documents from Mexico (including Texas/Tejas), Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, maps, diaries, historical newspapers & monographs, pamphlets, Department of State diplomatic records and more. Collected from archives in U.S. and Europe. Materials in English, Spanish, Portuguese and other languages.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (EastView Press) This link opens in a new windowA growing collection of newspapers from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods providing rare documentation of the dramatic events including partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Collection will eventually contain over 1,000 titles. (1807-1929)
- Latin American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowMore than 280 newspapers published during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from more than 20 countries in the region, from Argentina to Venezuela.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexing and significant full-text linkage to articles in scholarly journals, magazines, and books. Includes materials published worldwide in a variety of languages about Central and South America, the Caribbean, U.S.-Mexico border region, and U.S. Hispanics. Focus is Social Sciences and Humanities. 1967-present
- Immigration: Records of the INS - 1880-1930 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new windowTurn of the century files cover immigration of various groups to the United States, including Japanese and Chinese immigration, European immigration, and Mexican immigration between 1906-1930. There are also extensive files on the regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
- Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowFull-text current and historical newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority presses of the U.S. and Canada. Provides the unique viewpoint of Hispanic, Native Peoples, African American, Caribbean, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, and Jewish communities. Dates of coverage: 1959-current.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowA digital library containing millions of images from the world's museums, archives, and libraries. Find images for papers, presentations, and studies in the humanities. Tools for sharing images, curating groups of images, downloading them directly into PowerPoint presentations, and comparing and contrasting images are also included. You can also search Artstor in JSTOR.
Search Library Quick Search
Library Quick Search
Use Library Quick Search to search for books and articles across many databases in a single search.
How to Use Google Scholar Off CampusDue to recent changes made by Google, you'll need to do a one-time set-up for your account to access full-text articles available through UTSA Libraries. Step by step instructions provided.