- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Latin American Studies
Latin American Studies
A guide to primary and secondary sources, including a sub-section on U.S. / Latin American foreign relations.
Featured Resource
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new windowSearch by keyword or browse by subject to find substantive scholarly peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics related to Latin American history. Each article includes extensive notes, a discussion of the literature in the field, links to digital materials, and a list for further reading. Regularly updated.
Streaming Video
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowDigitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
- Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowCross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.
Background Information
Click on a title to check its availability.
Mexico: A Global Studies Handbook by Call Number: F1229 .H83 2008Available in print and as an e-book. This book is part of a series about Latin American countries. To find other books in the series search for: "global studies" "latin america"
Chronology of Hispanic-American History by Call Number: E184 .S75 C49 1995
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History by Available as an e-book
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Call Number: F1406 .E515 2000
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by Call Number: F1410 .E56 2002
Historical Dictionary of U. S. -Latin American Relations by Call Number: F1418 .D468 2005
Women's Activism in Latin America and the Caribbean: Engendering Social Justice, Democratizing Citizenship by Call Number: HQ1236.5.L37 W665 2010
Economic and Social Progress in Latin America by Call Number: HC125 .I514
Country-Specific Encyclopedias
Click a title to check its availability. The following titles are in Spanish.
- Enciclopedia de MéxicoCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor F1204 .E5 200514 volume reference encyclopedia about Mexico.
- Enciclopedia Oceano de MéxicoCall Number: F1204 .E52 20024-volume encyclopedia of Mexican history, geography and culture. In Spanish.
- Milenios de México byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor F1204 .M955 1999Mexican cultural history. 3 volumes
- Enciclopedia del Ecuador byCall Number: F3708 .E53 2001
- Enciclopedia de Bolivia byCall Number: F3309.5 .E53 1999
- Enciclopedia del Peru byCall Number: F3409.5 .e53 2001
Biography
Click on a title to check its availability.
- Who's Who in Latin America; A Biographical Dictionary of Notable Living Men and Women of Latin America byCall Number: CT 506 .W48 1971
- Who's Who in Latin America: Government, Politics, Banking & IndustryCall Number: F1407 .W52
- Diccionario Porrúa de historia, biografía y geografía de México byCall Number: F1204 .D56 1995Many short biographies of notable Mexican figures from all fields. Also includes entries for Mexican locations, historical events, and other terms. In Spanish.
- Historia de México a través de sus gobernantes byCall Number: F1226 .V47 2003Many short biographies of rulers of Mexico from 1325 through 1326. Includes Aztecs rulers, viceroys and constitutional presidents. In Spanish.
- El pequeño Larousse ilustrado byCall Number: AG61 .L3Spanish/Spanish dictionary with biographical and geographical section in back.
Library of Congress Classification
The UTSA Library uses the Library of Congress classification system to assign call numbers to books so that you can find them on the shelves. You'll usually find books on Latin America under these broad categories:
F1201-3799 Latin America. Spanish America
F1201-1392 Mexico
F1421-1440 Central America
F1601-1629 West Indies
F2201-3799 South America
F2251-2299 Colombia
F2301-2349 Venezuela
F2351 Guiana
F2361-2391 Guyana. British Guiana
F2441-2471 French Guiana
F2501-2659 Brazil
F2661-2699 Paraguay
F2701-2799 Uruguay
F2801-3021 Argentina
F3051-3285 Chile
F3301-3359 Bolivia
F3401-3619 Peru
F3701-3799 Ecuador