- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Latin American Studies
Latin American Studies
A guide to primary and secondary sources, including a sub-section on U.S. / Latin American foreign relations.
Key Resources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowSearch ProQuest Congressional to find U.S. government documents that discuss issues involving the U.S. and Latin America, 1873 -present.
- Foreign Relations of the United States - FRUS (1861-1988)The official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Available in a web-based edition or downloadable e-book edition. Search within the volumes or browse them by administration. From the 1800s through the Reagan Administration. Department of State, Office of the Historian.
- Foreign Relations of the United States - FRUS E-book EditionsSelect FRUS volumes are available for download to read on a broad range of devices Department of State, Office of the Historian.
- Foreign Relations of the United States - FRUS (1861 - 1996)The digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States is a project of the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries in collaboration with the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian; printed volumes are available from the Government Printing Office. FRUS begins with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861. Many volumes published since 1945 are available online on the State Department website.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowDNSA contains a wealth of declassified primary documents relating to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945 obtained through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Divided into more than 50 collections on Cuba, Mexico, South and Central America, Afghanistan, the former Soviet Union, South Africa, Iran, China, Korea, Vietnam, and other areas. Documents include memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, emails, and confidential letters. Also see National Security Archive homepage for Unredacted (blog) and news postings.
- Stratfor This link opens in a new windowProvides access to geopolitical information including news, analyses, and future forecasts for various countries, arranged by region. Categories include economics/trade, energy, military, politics, and terrorism/security. Also includes podcasts and a book club forum.
- Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) - Latin American Studies ProgramCFR's Latin America Studies program brings relevant issues to the forefront of research, public debate, and policy discussion on the opportunities and challenges facing the Western Hemisphere. It will stimulate public dialogue and contribute to a better understanding of how the United States might invest in constructive ties with the region. Current projects focus on Brazil, Mexico, Globalization and Democracy, and Cuba.
- Columbia International Affairs OnlineColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Print Sources
Colonial Latin America: A Documentary History by Call Number: F1412 .C642 2002A selection of primary texts and images with scholarly commentary.
Latin America and the United States: A Documentary History by Call Number: F1418 .L354 2011
Primary Sources on Microfilm
Click on a title to check its availability.
- CIA Research Reports. Latin America, 1946-1976 byCall Number: F1414.2 .L379
- General Census of the Population of Mexico: 1895, 1900, 1910, 1921, 1930, and 1940 byCall Number: HA761.5 1895 .M39
- Latin American History and Culture: An Archival Record. Series 1. (Andean, Mexico and Spain Collections)Call Number: F1408 .P8 2000
- Latin American Pamphlets from the Yale University Library: Selections from 1600-1900 byCall Number: F1408.25 .Y35 Guide 1988
- O.S.S./State Department Intelligence and Research Reports: Part XIV, Latin America, 1941-1961 byCall Number: F1414 .U55 1941-61
- U.S. Political Relations with Guatemala, 1945-1959 byCall Number: E183.8 .G9 U56
- The United States & Castro's Cuba, 1950-1970: The Paterson CollectionCall Number: E183.8 .C9 S36
- U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Mexico, 1919-1941 byCall Number: F1234 .U58 1919-41
FBIS Reports
UTSA Libraries has Foreign Broadcast Information Service Reports on microfiche.
- Daily Report. Latin America. byCall Number: PREX 7.10: FBIS-LAT-Jan. 4, 1978 - July 31, 1996
Available on microfiche
- Foreign Broadcast Information ServiceHistory Part I: 1941-1947
History of the early, pre-CIA, years of the Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Declassified document. Available online in PDF.