Latin American Studies

The Political Database of the Americas (PDBA) is a non-governmental project of the Center for Latin American Studies (CLAS) at Georgetown University. The PDBA offers centralized and systematized information about institutions and political processes, national constitutions, branches of government, elections, political constitutional studies and other subjects related to the strengthening of democracy in the region.

Provides access to a wide range of ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministires and presidencies. Content in the Archive includes not only the full-text versions of official documents, but also original video and audio recordings of key regional leaders. Archive contents include thousands of annual and "state of the nation" reports, plans and programs, and speeches.

Publisher of the NACLA Report on the Americas, the NACLA website offers original reporting, analysis and commentary on Latin America from the web, and hosts an archive of their previously published material. Their archive is searchable, however full text is not freely available. UTSA Libraries have print copies of the NACLA Reports which you can scan or photocopy.

Access to websites of all U.S. Embassies including those in Latin America.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

The Presidential Messages database contains digital images of over 75,000 pages of presidential speeches from the early 19th century to the present from Mexico and Argentina.

INEGI is the official Mexican government web site for census, statistical and geographic information. The site contains data on economics, population, geography and other data. Search Library Quick Search Catalog under Keyword "INEGI" OR "Instituto Nacional de Estadistica" for more

The primary reference tool to the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. Published from 1937-1999. Citations only.

Documents, human rights, humanitarian issues, statistical data and more.

Information about the organization's history, charter and organizational structure. The four "pillars" of the OAS are democracy, human rights, security, and development. The website also provides links to resources on these topics.

Links to affliated health organizations in Latin American countries, including health related news, reports and data.

Main source of financing for projects involving development and reduction of poverty in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Provides basic statistics from the previous year on the economic, sociodemographic and environmental situation in the region. These data are part of the statistics available on CEPALSTAT, the ECLAC portal for statistical databases and publications

A regional commission of the United Nations that fosters economic development within and among Latin American countries.

Gateway to statistical information on Latin America and Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC) (United Nations).

Links to historical maps of Latin American countries.