Includes introductory tutorials on indigenous writing and culture in Central Mexico and Oaxaca, an interactive atlas of Mesoamerica, interactive digital facsimiles of selected indigenous pictorial documents from Central Mexico and Oaxaca, an archive of digitized textual documents from the 1520s to the 1960s, and video and audio commentaries by scholars of Mesoameria.
The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.
The Huexotzinco Codex is part of the testimony in a legal case against representatives of the colonial government in Mexico by the Nahua people of Huexotzinco. Scholars consider the codex to be the first pictorial representation of the Madonna and Child in the New World. In this webinar, cartography expert John Hessler examines the creation of the codex and its iconography.
In this webinar, cartography expert John Hessler provides an introduction to the production and uses of codices in the early Americas and examines the Mapa Quetzalecatzin, produced between 1570 and 1595 to represent the family tree of a prominent Nahua family.
The Oztoticpac Lands Map is a Nahua pictorial document with Nahuatl writing drawn for a court case in the city of Texcoco around 1540. The document, written on amatl paper, involves the land ownership of the ruler Chichimecatecotl, who was executed by Spanish officials in 1539. In this webinar, cartography expert John Hessler discusses the adjustments and accommodation taking place in the early colonial period, as well as the skillful use indigenous peoples made of Spanish laws and courts to maintain their rights and win concessions for themselves.
An extensive bibliography of the anthropology of Mesoamerica, including Mexico and parts of Central America, it includes areas such as archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Available from the FAMSI website.
A large, and growing digital image library - includes more than two million high-quality images for teaching and research. The various collections include images of artworks (paintings, sculpture, etc.), photography (both "artistic" and documentary) as well as the built environment (architectural structures and monuments).
A database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.