An extensive bibliography of the anthropology of Mesoamerica, including Mexico and parts of Central America, it includes areas such as archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Available from the FAMSI website.
The home of the Center for Maya Research and the Center for Ancient American Studies, includes citations for reports on many topics in Native American studies in the fields of anthropology, archaeology, art history, iconography, epigraphy, ethnohistory, ethnology, and linguistics. Free website.
View digitized codices from Pre-Columbian, Colonial, Independent and Revolutionary periods in Mexican history. Go to the section "Acervo Historico" and click on Tipo to find manuscripts, maps, and codices.
Extensive documentation of ancient Maya sites at Uxmal, Kabah, Sayil, and Labna. Includes 19th and early 20th century drawings, prints, and photographs, as well as more than 1,000 recent photographs. An extensive annotated bibliography is also included.
An archive of rollout and still photographs of vases, plates and bowls, from the various cultures of Mesoamerica. The objects pictured are from archaeological sites, museums and collections throughout Mexico, Guatemala, Honduras, Belize, the Unites States, Canada and Europe. Photographs by Justin Kerr, well known for creating visual documentation of ancient artifacts.
The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.
The Huexotzinco Codex is part of the testimony in a legal case against representatives of the colonial government in Mexico by the Nahua people of Huexotzinco. Scholars consider the codex to be the first pictorial representation of the Madonna and Child in the New World. In this webinar, cartography expert John Hessler examines the creation of the codex and its iconography.
In this webinar, cartography expert John Hessler provides an introduction to the production and uses of codices in the early Americas and examines the Mapa Quetzalecatzin, produced between 1570 and 1595 to represent the family tree of a prominent Nahua family.
The Oztoticpac Lands Map is a Nahua pictorial document with Nahuatl writing drawn for a court case in the city of Texcoco around 1540. The document, written on amatl paper, involves the land ownership of the ruler Chichimecatecotl, who was executed by Spanish officials in 1539. In this webinar, cartography expert John Hessler discusses the adjustments and accommodation taking place in the early colonial period, as well as the skillful use indigenous peoples made of Spanish laws and courts to maintain their rights and win concessions for themselves.
A database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject, in this case Latin American Studies. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines. Covers a wide range of topics from Preconquest Latin America to the 20th century. Links connect you to UTSA-owned sources.