- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Getting Started
- Historiography Recommendations
- Writing / Citing
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
The History of History
Historiography is often described as "the history of history."
A historiography focuses on how scholars have interpreted certain events, not on the events themselves. It identifies key thinkers and explains the evolution of the scholarly debate on a particular subject over time. A good historiography points out the influential books and articles that have shaped or revolutionized a field of study and shows the connections between major works. It looks at changes or revisions in interpretation based on reinterpretation of sources or the discovery of new sources. It explains the ideological perspective from which a scholar is writing (Marxist, feminist, etc.). Rather than merely summarizing a scholar's ideas, it provides an analysis of a work's argument, sources, and conclusions.
Search Library Quick Search
Library Quick Search
Use Library Quick Search to search for books and articles across many databases in a single search.
- America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts articles on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Includes citations from more than 2,000 journals published worldwide. Also includes citations of book and media reviews from over 100 key journals in the field.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSelectively indexes and abstracts articles relating to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes citations from more than 2,000 journals published worldwide, as well as citations to useful historical books as reviewed by journals in the field.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowA database designed to help you start your research on almost any subject. Contains recommendations for scholarship at all levels, whether encyclopedias and textbooks or journal articles and primary sources. Bibliographic essays and annotated citations on each topic. Peer-reviewed, selective, rather than exhaustive content chosen by experts in their disciplines.
- Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts, as well as full text PDFs, to millions of doctoral dissertations and master's theses from graduate schools and universities around the world. Full text coverage is primarily from 1997 forward, with a significant number of full text titles previous to 1997. Coverage is from 1637 to the present.
Find Books at other Libraries
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online catalog of library holdings locally and worldwide. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, open access resources, and other materials from academic, public, corporate, and specialized libraries. Get It For Me button allows you to request to borrow an item.
- TexShare InformationFind out how to get a Texshare card to use at other academic and public libraries in Texas.