Latin American Studies

Browse or search in English, Spanish, or Portuguese for digital primary sources of Ibero-America, the region of the Americas comprising countries or territories where Spanish or Portuguese are predominant languages. Featured collections include gastronomy, maps, sound recordings, manuscripts, newspapers and magazines, botany, wildlife, music scores, and more.

A collection of mostly 20th century pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards originally created by a wide array of social activists, NGO's, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. Subjects include human and civil rights, education, labor, minorities, ethnic and racial groups, agrarian and rural issues, environment and ecology, politics and government, socioeconomic conditions, and more. From Princeton University Library.

This digital collection from SMU's DeGolyer Library contains many items related to the Mexican Revolution. Each item includes any information and details about Mexico and Mexican history that are available.

A digital collection of photographs from Chihuahua, Mexico during the Mexican Revolution era .

This digital collection from SMU's DeGolyer Library portrays the landscape, people, and technology of Peru and Bolivia in the late 19th century, and includes a set of photographs of St. Pierre, Martinique, before and after the eruption of Mt. Pelee in 1902.

An online exhibition of the A.B. Nichols Panama Canal Collection from the Linda Hall Library. The bulk of the materials in these notebooks and albums were collected/created by A.B. Nichols, from 1906-1917, with additional material added by Nichols during his retirement years, as late as 1923. Nichols was an engineer at the canal.

A cooperative digital library for resources from and about Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. Includes newspapers, official documents, economic data, maps, histories, travel accounts, literature, artifacts, and more. Includes a link to a collection of materials on the Panama Canal.

A digital collection of pre-20th century documents about the Caribbean. Includes slave narratives, documents on food culture, maps, and more.

Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements. From the Kenneth Spencer Research Library at the University of Kansas.

Organizational records of several San Antonio and Texas-based organizations founded with the goal of promoting awareness and improved relations between the U.S. and Latin America. Document dates range from 1909-2009.

A joint project from the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries and the Panama Canal Museum. Materials include objects, yearbooks, photographs, artwork from indigenous peoples, newspapers, and ephemera.

A joint project of the Center of Greater Southwestern Studies and the Library at the University of Texas at Arlington, the project currenlty examines two events: the Battle of Monterrey and the Polkos Revolt.

A portal to digitized collections of primary sources focused on Latin America and the Caribbean. Browse by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Hover over the title of a collection to view more information and to get a link to its website for access to the digital content. From SALALM, the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials.

Digital archive of documents pertaining to slavery from the 16th to the 19th centuries. In Spanish.

A collection of archival materials dating from the 16th through the 20th centuries documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World. Includes maps, images, and secular documents such as bills of sale, property registries and disputes, dowries, and letters of manumission, as well as church documents pertaining to baptism, marriage, wills, and more.

Widely considered the most important resource on the Trans-Atlantic slave trade. Comprises 36,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Users can look for particular voyages of documented slaving expeditions, create listings, tables, and maps that draw on the database, examine estimates of the slave trade, and locate the African name, age, gender, origin, country, and places of embarkation and disembarkation of individuals. Website includes 3 databases: the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, the Intro-American Slave Trade, and the African Names database. Special features include introductory essays, maps, timelines of estimates of captives embarked and disembarked, an image gallery, and more.

A digital collection of maps, codex images, documents, and photographs from Pre-Columbian Latin America to about 1900.

Documents include British Parliamentary Papers, U.S. government records, manuscripts, and historical statistical data.

Look at the tab for CRL Collections as well as Related Resources tab for some useful links.