Company Research

Resources and search tips for researching companies.

Key Databases for Private Companies

Check multiple sources for a more complete picture of a company.

Company Directories & Profiles

AtoZ Databases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a directory of U.S. business, household, and healthcare information.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
U.S. and international companies, M&A deals, VC funding, and more.
Capital IQ This link opens in a new window
Data on U.S. and international public and private companies, M&A deals, executives and boards worldwide; news, investment research, and more. Includes powerful screening tools, chart builders, and Office Plug-In modeling tool. By S&P Global. Please note that UTSA does not subscribe to Capital IQ PRO.

Access to Capital IQ is for current faculty, staff, and students only and requires approval by Capital IQ. To request a new Capital IQ account:
1. Click on the Capital IQ database link above; login with abc123 and passphrase; complete DUO authentication.
2. Click on New User in the top right header and enter your utsa.edu email.
3. Check your email box for confirmation and finish the sign-up. Your login credentials will be provided via email from Capital IQ.

Once your Capital IQ account is created, for future access you will need to use the proxied link to Capital IQ above on the library database page, and then your personal Capital IQ credentials to log in.

To download Office Plug-in, go to My Capital IQ tab > My Profile > Downloads. See research guide for more information. You may also complete Capital IQ training at S&P Market Intelligence Academic Resource Center.
ORBIS (Bureau van Dyke) This link opens in a new window
Bureau van Dijk is a Moody's Analytics company. ORBIS contains financial information on listed and private companies from 220+ countries; bank and insurance reports; comprehensive ownership/subsidiary coverage; directors and contacts; market reports, M&A activity and more. Features the ability to screen based on 100+ criteria. Complementary access to the Pan-European dataset (AMADEUS), global company dataset (OSIRIS), and ORBIS dataset through WRDS under Bureau van Dijk data.

News about Private Companies

Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
For company dossiers, go to Guided Search on the left > Company Info. For news stories and trade publications, go to All News.
Business Source Complete: Business Search Interface (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Aggregator. Academic, trade, popular business publications; including the Harvard Business Review; wires; reports, and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Aggregator. Academic, trade, popular business publications; newspapers including the Wall Street Journal; wires; reports, and more.
Wall Street Journal (Current) | WSJ.com This link opens in a new window
Register for free access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes all WSJ articles, videos, interactive features, digital print daily edition, and more.
San Antonio Business Journal This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage and breaking news on the business communities in the local San Antonio area. Users must first register for an account using their UTSA email address to access the content.. After a personal account is created, users may login directly on the SABJ site.

Please refer to this Research Guide for additional information on registration and access.

Where to Find Information about Private Companies

Limitations:

While U.S. privately-held companies are not required to file financial data with the SEC, they have to registrer with the state governments. Company information is limited; registration and a fee are usually required to access information.
Unless private company willingly provide annual reports or appear in the news articles, it may prove difficult to research them.
Information on private companies is often provided as estimates or ranges.
Disclosure requirements in other countries may differ.

Private Company Research Strategy

Get ideas about private company research strategies here:

Checklists for Private Company Research
Ojala, M. (2011). Checklists for private company research. Online, 35(1), 48-50.
Some sources may not be available via UTSA Libraries.

Start your research on Google, review your results. Check the UTSA databases for private companies listed above. Other recommended sources:

Web directories
Check whether a company is listed in these directories.
e-Secretary of State: Entity Search
Find registered companies in each U.S. state.
Texas SOSDirect
Find registered entities in TX. Fee-based.
LinkedIn Company Directory
Check if a company has a profile on LinkedIn. Additional information may require a personal login and an upgrade to a professional membership.
Glassdoor.com
Company insights provided by anonymous employees.
Trade and Industry Associations
Search Encyclopedia of Associations in the Gale Directory Library for trade associations by topic. Contact associations for expert advice.
Washington Information Directory (2022-2023)
Find relevant local, state, and federal government agencies, judicial offices, public interest groups, nonprofits, nongovernmental organizations, International organizations, and more.

Form D Filings

Privately held companies that raise capital are required to file a Form D with the SEC as a notice of an exempt offering of securities. Form D filings may show investments by venture capital, angel investors, or pooled investment funds.

A Form D filing contains:

Amount of money raised
Equity or debt issuance
Industry category
Names of the executives and directors
Addresses for the company, executives, and directors
Other information - brokers used, commission paid

State security regulators may have additional filing requirements.

Sample Form D
SEC Fast Answers - Form D
SEC Form D Guide
A compliance guide for small entities and others.
FormDs.com
Data collected from SEC Form D filings. Filter by date, amounts, industries, new or amended, equity or debt, state, distance, exemptions & exclusions.