Company Research

Resources and search tips for researching companies.

Key Databases

These databases focus mostly on consumer goods and services. Locate reports and data on product/brand and market share information:

Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new window
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Market Research Academic This link opens in a new window
GlobalData Explorer This link opens in a new window
Go to Databases to access Market Data Analytics.

ThomasNet
Find manufacturers, distributors and service providers. Search product catalogs, view 3D CAD drawings and much more.
Websters Online
U.S. and Canada product and company directory.
Global Sources
A worldwide directory of exporters and products.
Alibaba
Global sourcing directory (originally from China) for buyers and suppliers.
DirectIndustry Expo
An online exhibition of industrial equipment and components; product catalogs.
MedicalExpo
Medical devices and manufactures; product catalogs.
Engineering 360
A business directory for engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market.

Trademarks may be helpful in researching company's products.

USPTO Trademarks
The official U.S. Patent and Trademark Office site.
Trademarkia
A search engine for U.S. federally registered trademarks. Search by company's name, trademark category, logo theme, filing date, products and services, status, filing attorney's name and more.

Suggested strategies for web searching:

You may find press-releases and articles about your products with nuggets of valuable information.

NOTE: UTSA Libraries will NOT buy market research reports from the web.

Additional resources:

How Products Are Made
A resource which includes the inventor, manufacturing and assembly processes, the raw materials and more for particular types of products.

North American Product Classification System (NAPCS)
NAPCS is available for products of service industries, some mining and manufacturing. NAPCS is still under development. Identical products produced by multiple industries will carry the same title, definition, and code numbers in NAPCS, regardless of their industries of origin. Products data will be maintained in a manner that any product can be linked back to the industries that produce it and any industry can be linked back to the products it produces.
Central Product Classification (CPC)
CPC is developed by the United Nations.
Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS)
The HS exists as a common standard for describing products worldwide for reporting goods to customs and other government agencies. Used by more than 180 countries worldwide, and almost 100% of international trade. Created and administered by the World Customs Organization (WCO). The first 6 digits of the HS are used universally. Each country may then add to the original 6 to suit its own tariff and statistical needs, creating 8, 10, and sometimes 12 digit national codes.
Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States
6-digit code. Provides statistical categories for all merchandise imported in the United States. Based on HS. Supported by the U.S. International Trade Commission.
Harmonized Schedule B
10-digit code. Maintained by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Used for exports from the United States.