- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Texas State Government
Texas State Government
State of Texas publications, documents and statistics
Reference Librarian
Other UTSA Government Guides
Acknowledgment
This guide was originally created by Rita Wilson (1948-2024), UTSA Government Documents librarian for 27 years and liaison for Anthropology, Spanish and Modern Languages, Geography, Criminology, and Paralegal Studies.
Texas Quick Facts
- Texas Quick FactsFrom the U.S. Census Bureau, quick access to Texas Population, Housing, Demographic, Economic, and Business data from the Census, American Community Survey, and business and economic surveys.
- Handbook of Texas OnlineAn online version of the Handbook of Texas. This encyclopedia gives information on the history, geography, and culture of Texas. Look up individual county names for a history of that county. Includes an article on defunct counties. (The New Handbook of Texas) (6 volumes)
- Texas Legislature Online (TLO)Information from both the Texas House of Representatives and the Texas Senate. Includes information on bills and on various committees.
- Legislative Reference Library of Texas (LRL)Comprehensive repository of information relating to the Texas Legislature including Texas statutes and session laws, legislative bill files (63rd-present) and Legislative Archive System scanned bill files (58th-87th).
- Texas City Population History from 1850 to 2000 (.pdf) (Texas Almanac)A table of population for each decennial year for selected Texas cities insofar as such data exists.
- Texas Population History of Counties from 1850 to 2010 (.pdf) (Texas Almanac)A table of population for each decennial year for Texas counties.
Catalogs - Texas Documents
- Library Catalog of Texas State Library and Archives CommissionSearchable online catalog of the holdings of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) and five partner agencies. Useful for identifying Texas government publications. Not all items owned by TSLAC prior to 1976 are listed. Check UTSA catalogs for holdings.
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online catalog of library holdings locally and worldwide. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, open access resources, and other materials from academic, public, corporate, and specialized libraries. Get It For Me button allows you to request to borrow an item.
- USA.gov This link opens in a new windowUSA.gov is the U.S. government's official web portal to all federal, state, and local government web resources and services, as well as those of cross-government agencies and tribal governments. Provides access to over 100,000 government websites. Search the official Spanish language web portal of the U.S. Government at USAGov en español . For similar resources, see also govinfo and GPO Monthly Catalog.
Web Portals and Catalogs for Texas Information
- TRAIL: Texas Records and Information LocatorTRAIL searches and links to information from over 180 Texas state agency web servers. It also provides basic information about state agencies including contact, legal, budgetary and background resources on the alphabetical Texas State Agencies page.
- Library Catalog of Texas State Library and Archives CommissionSearchable online catalog of the holdings of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission (TSLAC) and five partner agencies. Useful for identifying Texas government publications. Not all items owned by TSLAC prior to 1976 are listed. Check UTSA catalogs for holdings.
- State Agency Databases ProjectAnnotated list of databases from each state government listed by agency. Compiled by Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association (GODORT).
- Texas State Agency DatabasesAnnotated list of databases from Texas government listed by agency. Compiled by Government Documents Round Table of the American Library Association (GODORT).
- Texas Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journal and news articles, reference works, and e-books, on Texas history, culture, and life.
Also includes Texas Almanac
- Cracker Barrel Chronicles: A Bibliography of Texas Town and County HistoriesArranged alphabetically, this source provides a listing of periodical articles and books on the history of Texas counties.
F386 .J436 1965 - TRAIL: List of Texas State AgenciesLinks for each state agency for contact information, addresses, phone numbers and links to enabling legislation for that agency.
- TARO (Texas Archival Resources Online) This link opens in a new windowTARO makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public. The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Many of UTSA's special collections are available through TARO.
Texas State Flag / Seal / Capitol
- Flags & Other Symbols of Texas - Texas AlmanacTexas often is called the Lone Star State because of its state flag with a single star. This was also the flag of the Republic of Texas.
- Texas State Flag: General ProvisionsTexas Government Code from Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
- Flag StatusFind out from the Office of the Governor if the flag is full staff or half staff, and why.
- Capitol: History of the Lone Star State HouseTexas Legislative Council 2005
Located in downtown Austin, the Capitol houses the offices and chambers of the Texas Legislature and of the Governor of Texas. Designed in 1881 by architect Elijah E. Myers. (12 pages)
Texas Constitution
- Texas Constitution (Texas Legislature Online)An online version of the current constitution. It can be downloaded in its entirety, viewed by article, or searched.
Also see database of constitutional amendments (proposed & accepted) to the Texas Constitution. - Texas Legislative Council Online PublicationsTexas Constitution, Amendments since 1876, proposed amendments, process and procedures, more
- Vernon's Annotated Constitution of the State of TexasLocation: JPL 3rd Floor KFT1230 .A2 1876a (v.1-3)
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowFor Texas Constitution go to
Menu > All Sources > search Texas Constitution
or select Texas Constitution in "A Publication" box
- Texas Constitution Digitization ProjectTwelve versions of Texas Constitutions dating from 1824-1876. Includes search engine.