- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Texas State Government
Texas State Government
State of Texas publications, documents and statistics
Texas Capitol Dome
Texas Executive Offices
- Office of the Governor of TexasThe web site of the Office of the Governor of Texas. Includes over 4,000 pages of information and links to other Texas government sites.
- Governor Greg AbbottFrom Legislative Reference Library
Includes Biography, Executive Orders, Speeches, Press Releases, Vetoes, etc. - Governors of Texas, 1846 – presentFrom Legislative Reference Library
Includes: Biographies, Executive Orders, Proclamations, Speeches, Vetoes, Official Portrait, + - Texas Governors: Search for Governor Office DocumentsFrom: Legislative Reference Library of Texas
Search by governor, legislative session or keywords. For example, "state of the state" retrieves the Texas State of the State speeches back to 1846. - Lieutenant Governor's OfficeBiographical and other information on current Lieutenant Governor of Texas. Includes links to press releases, speeches and news stories.
- "On This Day of New Beginnings" - McDonald, Archie P.Selected Texas Governor Inaugural Addresses with individual introductions by McDonald, Archie P.
- Texas CapitolSeat of Texas government in Austin that houses the offices and chambers of the Texas Legislature and of the Governor of Texas.
- Trail of Trees at the Texas CapitolA Guide to the Historic and Significant Trees on the Texas Capitol grounds
Texas Legislature
The Texas Legislature meets in Regular Session every two years. Regular Sessions begin at noon on the second Tuesday in January of odd-numbered years and can last no more than 140 days. The governor can call additional special sessions as necessary, which cannot exceed 30 days.
- Texas Legislature Online (TLO)Information from both the Texas House of Representatives and the Texas Senate. Includes information on bills and on various committees.
- Legislative Reference Library of TexasComprehensive repository of information relating to the Texas Legislature including Texas statutes and session laws, legislative bill files (63rd-present) and Legislative Archive System scanned bill files (58th-87th).
- House Research OrganizationNonpartisan independent department of the Texas House of Representatives providing impartial information on legislation and issues before the Texas Legislature.
- Texas SenateThe official site includes information on Senators, bills, and capitol events. Provides access to the Senate Journal (1999-current). Has a special page for children.
- Texas House of RepresentativesThe official includes information on legislation, House Committees, and text to the House Journals (1999-current).
- Texas Legislative Manual (87th legislature / 2021)Produced by the Texas Legislative Council. Contains the U.S. and Texas Constitutions, the house and senate rules of procedure, the membership of the senate and house and their standing committees, and officers and employees of the two houses.
Who Represents Me?
- Who Represents Me?Enter Zip Code and address to find your U.S. and Texas Senate, House and State Board of Education representatives,