This is the "Home" page of the "U.S. Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U.S. Government Information  

Information on finding U.S. government information including publications, websites, statistics, databases, census info, treaties, and more.
Last Updated: Jul 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utsa.edu/usgov Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Official U.S. Web Portal

 

Reports & Analysis

Searching government sites on Google

Want to limit your Google search to just government websites?  Add "site:.gov"  to your search terms to limit your search to government domains.  




Spacer
 

Contingency Plans

Links to contingency plans for agencies across the Federal Government from OMB.

http://www.whitehouse.gov/omb/contingency-plans

Find Government Information

MetaLib
Free government website: http://metalib.gpo.gov/

  • U.S. Government reports, articles, and citations
  • Simultaneously searches across multiple subject based databases, catalogs, and digital repositories 
  • Search all or create your own sets of searchable databases 
  • Includes more than 50 sources including EPA, ERIC, GAO, Data.gov, FBI Vault, FdSys, NCJRS, National Archives and Library of Congress

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
Free government website: http://catalog.gpo.gov/

  • Finding tool for electronic and print publications from the U.S. legislative, executive, and judicial branches.
  • Contains more than 500,000 descriptive records for historical and current publications generated since July 1976
  • Provides direct links to documents that are available online.
  • Updated daily.
  • For publications issued prior to 1976, consult the printed Monthly Catalog (JPL Reference Z1223 .A18).

FDsys - Federal Digital System 
Free government website: http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/ 

  • From U.S. Government Printing Office
  • Provides free electronic access to a wealth of Federal publications including regulations, laws, Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, administrative decisions, the Core Documents of U.S. Democracy, and judicial, legislative, and executive documents.
  • Dates of coverage vary. Updated continuously.

FedWorld
Free government website: http://fedworld.ntis.gov/ 

  • An extensive, annotated subject index to federal government web sites and a central directory of electronic government information created by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
  • Searchable for items in 20 different databases, several with full text of documents.
  • Also allows searching throughout the web for government, technical, and business information
 

Find a Statistic

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Location: JPL Information Desk & Downtown Library, Reference HA202 .B8; older editions in JPL Stacks
Statistical Abstract of the United States (via ProQuest) (UTSA subscription)
Free Website: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/ (1878-2012)

Summarizes statistical data from a wide variety of government agencies in over 1,500 tables. Check original sources of data for more detailed information. Essential starting place for all U.S. statistics. Tables available in PDF, HTML and Excel formats.

Find a Federal Government Website

A to Z Index of Federal Government Agencies and Departments (via USA.gov)
Free government website: http://www.usa.gov/directory/federal/index.shtml

USA.gov: The U.S. Government's Official Web Portal
Free government website: http://usa.gov
USA.gov (formerly FirstGov) gives easy access to millions of pages of government information and services from federal, states, local, tribal and international sources.

  • Use the search engine to do full-text searches of government websites or browse by topic.
  • Includes a monthly list of featured subjects, links to frequently-used forms, and contacts for people in government.

Washington Information Directory (via Sage Knowledge) (UTSA subscription)

  • Lists more than 10,000 federal government offices, regulatory agencies, congressional committees, judicial offices, public interest groups, nongovernmental organizations, and international organizations.

FederalStudentAid: An Office of the U.S. Department of Education
Free government website: http://studentaid.ed.gov/

  • A gateway to government information created especially for students. 
  • Includes links to information on education, financial aid, careers, taxes, and  more.
      

    Govt Docs Coordinator

    Profile Image
    Rita Wilson
    Contact Info
    UTSA Libraries -- Main Campus
    One UTSA Circle
    San Antonio, Texas 78249
    210-458-7572
    Send Email
    Education:
    Master's in Library Studies, Univ. Michigan; MA Economics, Eastern Michigan Univ.; BA Anthropology, Univ. of Michigan
     

    Federal Depository

    "The publications of a government are the records of that nation's existence; they are the source material of its history." -- Edith E. Clarke, Guide to the Use of United States Government Publications, 1919                   

    Mobile Apps

    Add a government app to your cellphone! 

    http://apps.usa.gov/

        
       

      Fedflix

      FEDFLIX
      https://archive.org/details/FedFlix 

      Joint project of Public.Resource.Org and  National Technical Information Service to provide online at no charge a large variety of films created by federal government agencies.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip