- Find Information
- Research Guides
- United States Government Information
United States Government Information
Guide to Federal Government Information and Data
Handbooks and Reference
- United States Government Manual (current)> The official handbook of U.S. Government. agencies (current)
> Archival editions: 1935 - 2021 govinfo.gov
> Comprehensive information on agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches.
> Information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which U.S. participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
> Describes programs, activities, organization, history, Social media presence, FOIA procedures
> Includes Statutory and Regulatory Authorities
> History of Organizational Changes includes agencies that were terminated, transferred or renamed since 1933
- CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new window> Reference resources on topics in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.
> Includes the CQ Congress, Public Affairs, Voting and Elections, and Supreme Court collections, as well as Encyclopedia of American Government.
> Includes CQ Political Reference Suite titles: Congress and the Nation, Political Handbook of the World, Historic Documents Series, Washington Information Directory, and Politics in America.
- CQ Almanac This link opens in a new windowDetailed analysis and data on the major activities and legislation of the U.S. Congress for each session. 1945-present
- Occupational Outlook HandbookPublished by the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Covers career information on training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, job responsibilities, working conditions, and more.
- Washington Information Directory (2020-2021)Find relevant local, state, and federal government agencies, judicial offices, public interest groups, nonprofits, nongovernmental organizations, International organizations, and more.
- Congressional DirectoryShort biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district.
Committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.
1869 - 2022
Acronyms & Abbreviations & Glossaries
- Census Bureau GlossaryFind official definitions covering all topics, censuses, surveys and programs. The Census Bureau adheres to scientific methods and uses precise technical terminology that may be unfamiliar.
- Congressional GlossaryCongress.gov
- CRISP Thesaurus (Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects)National Library of Medicine
- Department of Defense Dictionary of Military Terms.pdf January 2021 edition
- Glossary of Terms Used in the Federal Budgetary ProcessFrom the Government Accountability Office.
- GovSpeak: A Guide to U.S. Government Acronyms & Abbreviations(from UC San Diego)
- Alternative Fuels Glossary (Dept. of Energy)Comprehensive glossary to define terms commonly used in the alternative fuels and advanced vehicles industry
Core Documents in U.S. History
- Primary Documents in American History"The Library of Congress is home to many of the most important documents in American history. This Web site provides links to materials digitized from the collections of the Library of Congress that supplement and enhance the study of these crucial documents."
- Core U.S. Government ResourcesDirect online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society.
- 100 Milestone DocumentsCompiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
U.S. Flag and Great Seal
- The eagle and the shield: a history of the great seal of the United States by Patterson, Richard SharpeCall Number: Free OnlinePublication Date: 1978
- Our FlagPublication Date: 2007Our Flag briefly describes the history of the American flag, and sets forth the practices and observances appropriate to its display. S. Doc. 109-18. Rev.