Secondary Marketing Research Certificate

Find links to resources and questions to guide your exploration.

Researching Companies

Questions to Explore

What affects the availability of company information?
Can you find SEC filings for a food truck business?

GlobalData Explorer
Replaced MarketLine. A powerful platform to explore, analyze, and compare companies, industries, and countries. Over 900,000 public and private companies worldwide across 22 sectors and 120+ subsectors from 200+ countries. Reports include case studies, profiles for companies and industries, SWOT and Five Forces analyses, analyst opinions, value and supply chain reports, macroeconomic data, and more. Additional databases include market analyzers, company filings analytics, social media analytics, deals, city profiles and city economics, global ads from leading brands, product innovation, job analytics, and news. Tools, such as the company screening tool, competitive intelligence tool, analytics hub, and others, enable deeper insights.
Mergent Online
Comprehensive business and financial data for U.S. and international public and private companies, active and inactive. Includes executive compensation data, bonds, Country Insight, Supply Chain, Investext analyst reports and screening tools.
The Mergent Online platform will be retired effective July 1, 2025. After that date please see Mergent Market Atlas.

EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval) (SEC.gov)
A database which performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance, and forwarding of submissions by companies required by law to file forms with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Please note that not all documents filed with SEC are available on EDGAR. Online documents on EDGAR go back to 1996.
Using EDGAR to Research Investments

Company Directories

AtoZ Databases
Provides access to a directory of U.S. business, household, and healthcare information.

Questions to Explore

In the bottom left quadrant, go to 30 Million Businesses > Get Started. Select geography,.e.g. Bexar County > use keywords to create a list. Try food truck or screen the options for any other relevant terms.
What is the keyword used in AtoZ for this type of businesses? Add it to your list of synonyms.

CrunchBase
A free database of technology companies, people and investors.

Questions to Explore

Look up a favorite tech company. Review the types of information available in the company profile.

News Stories

Searching for news stories about a company, industry, or products is another important step in the research process. The following UTSA databases may be useful:

Wall Street Journal (Current) | WSJ.com
Register for free access to WSJ.com and the WSJ apps. Includes all WSJ articles, videos, interactive features, digital print daily edition, and more.
San Antonio Business Journal
Provides in-depth coverage and breaking news on the business communities in the local San Antonio area. Users must first register for an account using their UTSA email address to access the content.. After a personal account is created, users may login directly on the SABJ site.

Please refer to this Research Guide for additional information on registration and access.
ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Access trade publications and the Wall Street Journal.

Questions to Explore

What are the recent stories about San Antonio in each of these three sources?

Researching Private Companies

Researching Private Companies

Questions to Explore

What is the main difference in researching private vs public companies?
Name at least three UTSA databases where you may find information about private companies.
Search for USAA in these databases and compare the results.
What kinds of information can you find in Form D filings?