- Find Information
- Research Guides
- POL 6893: Research Proposal (Calder)
POL 6893: Research Proposal (Calder)
Guide for Dr. Calder's Fall 2022 course.
- CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text reference resources on topics in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Congress, Public Affairs, Voting and Elections, and Supreme Court collections, as well as Encyclopedia of American Government. Also includes CQ Almanac, CQ Global Researcher, and CQ Political Reference Suite titles: Congress and the Nation, Political Handbook of the World, Historic Documents Series, Washington Information Directory, and Politics in America. Collections may contain dictionary or encyclopedia entries, image galleries, and maps.
- CQ Magazine This link opens in a new windowContains full-text nonpartisan weekly reports on U.S. Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995. Previously called CQ Weekly.
- Comparative Agendas ProjectCompiles data sets on U.S. Government activities since 1947" (Choice, November '09). Each dataset has a codebook allowing users to interpret the data.
- RealClearPoliticsAmerican political news website and polling data aggregator formed in 2000 by former options trader John McIntyre and former advertising agency account executive Tom Bevan.
- Vital Statistics on American Politics 2015-2016"In addition to such standard subjects as elections, Congress, the presidency, and the judiciary, this book provides information on the media; campaign finances; foreign, social, and economic policy; and a variety of issues related to state and local government." - Introd.
- Guide to Congress by CQ Press StaffISBN: 9781604269536Publication Date: 2012-08-10Offers a complete institutional history of Congress along with updated insight and analysis on the 2008 and 2010 shifts in power of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
- The Oxford Handbook of American Bureaucracy by Robert F. Durant (Editor); George C. Edwards (General Editor)ISBN: 9780199238958Publication Date: 2010-12-15Identifies major issues and trends, critically takes stock of the state of knowledge, and ponders where future research is most promising in future study of the administrative state in America. Unprecedented in scope, methodological diversity, scholarly viewpoint, and substantive integration, this volume is invaluable for assessing where the study of American bureaucracy stands at the end of the first decadeof the 21st century, and where leading scholars think it should go in the future.
- The Oxford Handbook of American Political Development by Richard M. Valelly (Editor); Suzanne Mettler (Editor); Robert C. Lieberman (Editor)ISBN: 9780199697915Publication Date: 2016-09-21Prizes analytical rigor, data collection, the development and testing of theory, and the generation of provocative hypotheses. Much APD scholarship indeed overlaps with the American politics subfield and its many well developed literatures on specific institutions or processes (for example Congress, judicial politics, or party competition), specific policy domains (welfare policy,immigration), the foundations of (in)equality in American politics (the distribution of wealth and income, race, ethnicity, gender, class, and sexual and gender orientation), public law, and governance and representation.
- The Oxford Handbook of American Public Opinion and the Media by Robert Y. Shapiro (Editor); Lawrence R. Jacobs (Editor); George C. Edwards (General Editor)ISBN: 9780199545636Publication Date: 2011-07-07This handbook takes on the big questions about public opinion and the media both empirical and normative focusing on current debates and social scientific research. Bringing together the thinking of a team of academic experts, its chapters provide an assessment of contemporary research on public opinion, the media, and their interconnections.
- The Oxford Handbook of the American Presidency by George C. Edwards III (Editor); William G. Howell (Editor)ISBN: 9780199238859Publication Date: 2009-10-25Assesses the state of scholarship on the presidency and the directions in which it needs to move.
- Politics in America 2014 by January Layman-Wood; CQ Roll Call StaffISBN: 9781452277837Publication Date: 2013-07-15Provides authoritative information on the members of Congress and offers concise and candid analysis of personalities, political styles, legislative agendas, political ambitions, and reputations of members at home and on Capitol Hill. Detailed state and district information plus a wealth of information and data on campaign finance, partisan caucuses, standing committees, and other member facts round out the book.
- Vital Statistics on the Presidency by Lyn RagsdaleISBN: 9781452299938Publication Date: 2014-05-07Looking beyond the individual office holders to the office itself, this Fourth Edition of Vital Statistics on the Presidency covers George Washington's tenure through the 2012 election. The book's expansive view of the presidency allows readers to recognize major themes across administrations and to reach overall conclusions about the nature of the institution and its future. The illuminating data is put into context by thoughtful essays explaining key statistical patterns, making this edition an intriguing and comprehensive reference to important patterns throughout the history of the presidency.
- The Presidency and the Executive Branch by Michael Nelson (Editor)ISBN: 9781608719068Publication Date: 2012-08-13Provides facts and analytical chapters that explain the structure, powers, and operations of the office and the President's relationship with Congress and the Supreme Court.