Anthropology & Archaeology

Library resources for Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnography and Primatology

Videos Online

Alexander Street This link opens in a new window
Searches multisuite of streaming videos, audio and text including Ethnographic Video 1 & 2, Ethnic Studies and Area Studies video, Filmakers Library and Anthropology Online (ebooks). Use Advanced Search to search specific collections.
Ethnographic Video Online 1 & 2 (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Both Ethnographic Video Online 1 and 2 are included in Anthropology along with Anthropology Online. For most complete search do not click on choices in Collections box.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
Films on Demand - Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Documentary films for Cultural Anthropology & Physical Anthropology, Archaeology and Primatology.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
Anthropology (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable access to hundreds to streaming videos including Ethnographic Video Online 1 & 2 as well as Anthropology Online collection of written ethnographies, field notes, interviews and seminal texts. Focus is on the study of human culture, behavior and society worldwide. Features the ability to save playlists and to create video clips for presentations.

Neanderthal Code (National Geographic)
YouTube. National Geographic documentary., 2008

Streaming Music & Handbooks

Music and Performing Arts Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searches thirteen music and performing arts collections from Alexander Street, including thousands of classical music scores, streaming music tracks in a variety of genres, and major music encyclopedias and dictionaries.

The following databases are included:
Music Online: American Music (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 35,000 tracks of historical American songs written by and about American Indians, African Americans, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Includes songs about the Civil Rights Movement, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and others.

This database can also be cross-searched with other music databases in Music Online.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Described as a "virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions," this database contains over 40,000 tracks of traditional music and spoken sound from around the world. Notes, images, videos, educational features, and lesson plans accompany the music.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 2.5 million audio tracks on 155,000 discs from over 940 recording labels. Classical music is the primary genre, but also includes world/folk music, Chinese orchestral, and traditional music. Includes more than 40,000 composer and artist biographies, as well as libretti and synopses of over 1,000 operas.

If you're interested in using the Naxos Mobile App, please contact William Glenn.
Ethnomusicology: Global Field Recordings (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Explore thousands of audio field recordings from around the world, along with interviews, educational recordings, film footage, field notebooks and other resources that document musical traditions and how music interacts with different societies and cultures. The Musical Instruments section allows you to see and read about instruments from 10 different global regions and to hear them performed by master musicians.