- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Anthropology & Archaeology
Anthropology & Archaeology
Library resources for Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnography and Primatology
Native American Sources
- American Indians in the Early WestCovers thousands of years of American Indian history, from the first migrations into North America, through the development of specific tribal identities, to the turbulent first centuries of encounters with European settlers up until 1800.
- American Museum of Natural History: Images CollectionsDigital images of over 240,000 objects from the Americas, Africa, Europe, Asia, and the Pacific Islands.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1828-2016. Formerly known as American Indian Newspapers.
A collection of 45 unique titles from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada that includes national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from tribal communities of the Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Comanche, Ho-Chunk, Navajo, and Osage, among others. Key topics include activism and protest, American Indian Movement, sovereignty, cultural promotion and language revitalization, public health and welfare, education, and more. - American West (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new windowExplore westward expansion in America from the early 18th to mid-20th century through a wide range of primary source documents including books, journals, contemporary newspapers, historic maps, broadsides, travel journals, photographs, artwork and more. Documents drawn from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library, Chicago.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, books, essays and U.S. and Canadian government documents on diverse aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Coverage: 16th Century to present. Updated regularly.
- Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowChronicles accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America from 1534-1850. Includes published and unpublished materials, including letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts. The collection's focus is on present-day Canada and the United States with limited coverage of Mexico.
- Bureau of Indian Affairs Photographs Finding AidExplore over 18,000 Photographs from the Bureau of Indian Affairs (Record Group 75)
- Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian: Photographic ImagesThe North American Indian by Edward S. Curtis is one of the most significant and controversial representations of traditional American Indian culture ever produced. In over 2000 photogravure plates and narrative, Curtis portrayed the traditional customs and lifeways of eighty Indian tribes. The twenty volumes are organized by tribes and culture areas encompassing the Great Plains, Great Basin, Plateau Region, Southwest, California, Pacific Northwest, and Alaska. Featured here are all of the published photogravure images including over 1500 illustrations bound in the text volumes, along with over 700 portfolio plates.
- Encyclopedia of Texas IndiansCall Number: E78 T4 E53 1999History of Texas Indians, descriptive entries of individual Texas tribes and noted individuals, treaty commitments and entire text of Indian treaties of the American Plains, West and Northwest Plateau.
- Encyclopedia of PrehistoryCall Number: GN710.E53 2001Comprehensive collection of original articles covering two million years of human life. Proposed nine volume set, con four volumes are available : Volume 1: Africa; Volume 2: Arctic and Subarctic; Volume 3: East Asia and Oceania; Volume 4: Europe; Volume 5: Middle America; Volume 6: North America; Volume 7: South America; Volume 8: South and Southwest Asia; Volume 9: Cumulative Index. Sponsored by Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) at Yale University.
- Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and LawExamines the history and impact of U.S. relations with Native Americans.
- The Gale Encyclopedia of Native American TribesCall Number: E77 .G15 1998Four volume source on historical, cultural and current information on nearly 400 Native American Indian groups of North America. Includes Northeast, Southeast, Southwest, Caribbean, Great Basin, Middle America, Arctic, Pacific Northwest and Pacific Islands.
Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico by Call Number: E-book (4 volumes)Publication Date: 2003 (reprint of 1912 edition)Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American Ethnology Includes illustrations, manners, customs, places and aboriginal words.- Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico byCall Number: E-book (2 volumes)Publication Date: 2007Descriptive list of stocks, confederacies and tribes with historical sketches, customs, archaeology and biographies of noted Native Americans. Free online from HathiTrust
- Handbook of North American Indians byCall Number: E76.2 .H36 (20 volumes)Item offsite, use Get It For Me service
Items located at Riverside Joint Library Facility
Smithsonian is digitizing this. Only Volume 1: Introduction currently available online. - Handbook of South American IndiansCall Number: https://utsa.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01UTXSANT_INST/ken82l/alma994014573904621A monographic series of edited scholarly and reference volumes in ethnographic studies, published by the Smithsonian Institution between 1940 and 1947.
Also available in print F2229 .S7x (7 volumes)
- eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files - HRAF) Archaeology This link opens in a new windowThe Human Relations Area Files (HRAF): Archaeology is cross-cultural full text collection of information on prehistoric cultures and traditions around the world. Sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level and organized by Outline of the World Cultures (OWC), and: Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), which are included as searchable files.
- eHRAF (Human Relations Area Files - HRAF) World Cultures This link opens in a new windowA collection of primary source materials mainly published in books and articles, but including some unpublished manuscripts, on selected cultures or societies. Organization of collection corresponds to classification in "Outline of World Cultures" (JPL Stacks H62 .B36); material within cultures is classified according to Outline of Cultural Materials (JPL Stacks H 62 .B361); general information about HRAF is in Nature and Use of the HRAF files: a Research and Teaching Guide
- Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) on microficheJPL 4th Floor Microfiche Cabinet GN345.7 .H6 - Drawer F1
Note: The cultures on microfiche are NOT included in eHRAF database.
- List of HRAF cultures on microfiche at UTSA Library (.doc)These cultures are not duplicated in eHRAF.
- National Museum of the American IndianPart of the Smithsonian Institution, the NMAI is the first national museum dedicated to the preservation, study, and exhibition of the life, languages, literature, history, and arts of Native Americans. Includes online exhibits.
- Oxford Handbook of Southwest ArchaeologyEmpirical evidence, theoretical orientations, and historical reconstructions of archaeology of the American Southwest. Themed chapters on method and theory are accompanied by comprehensive overviews of all major cultural traditions in the region, from the Paleoindians, to Chaco Canyon, to the onset of Euro-American imperialism.
- World Atlas of Language Structures Online (WALS) This link opens in a new windowA database of maps and bibliographical references on the structural properties (phonological, grammatical, lexical) of languages. Includes information on location, linguistic affiliation and basic classification features of more than 2,650 languages. A joint project of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology and the Max Planck Digital Library.
Works Issued by the Hakluyt SocietyISBN: Book Series (231 titles)Primary resource books on voyages of discovery, history of exploration, maritime history, and historical travel accounts of voyages and travels undertaken by individuals in many parts of the globe on geography, ethnology and natural history.
Published by The Hakluyt Society which lists a bibliography of all titles in series.
Some titles are freely available online in: HathiTrust
- My Tribal AreaU.S. Census site for easy access to statistics that detail characteristics of the people, jobs, housing, economy and educational levels in our nation’s tribal areas and reservations.
Early American West
- Early Encounters in North America: People, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowChronicles accounts of exploration, discovery, travel, environment, peoples, and cultures in North America from 1534-1850. Includes published and unpublished materials, including letters, diaries, memoirs, and accounts. The collection's focus is on present-day Canada and the United States with limited coverage of Mexico.
Native American Treaties & Documents
- Native American People Treaties, Ratified and Unratified (via Nexis Uni)Search full text of historical Indian treaties (1787-1883) by keyword. Treaties in text format. Individual treaties also available full image in Serial Set with other supporting Senate Documents in ProQuest Congressional.
- Indian Tribe Cultural Heritage: Relevant Federal Laws, Regulations, Executive OrdersSeveral Federal laws and Executive Orders exist that relate to the Federal government’s relationship with Indian tribes with regard to cultural resource consultation:
From U.S. General Services Administration
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowFind full image government documents, reports, treaties, presidential messages, etc., from 1789-current. Individual treaties also available full image in Serial Set with other supporting Senate Documents.
- American Indian and the United States: A Documentary HistoryCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor E93 .W27Four volumes divided into five categories: reports of the commissioner of Indian affairs; congressional debates; acts of Congress; treaties and judicial decisions. Each category is in chronological order with a brief introduction.
- Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties (Kappler's Indian Affairs)Digital version of the historically significant 7 volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes.