Anthropology & Archaeology

Library resources for Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnography and Primatology

Center for Archaeological Research (CAR)

Center for Archaeological Research (CAR)
Research facility established in 1974 within the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences at UTSA. CAR conducts archaeological research, surveys and excavations in Texas and surrounding areas and publishes information on the prehistory and history of Texas and San Antonio.
CAR Publications
CAR publishes all reports from their archaeological surveys and excavations.

Center for Archaeological Research Publications
Full text searchable collection of the entire set of the Center for Archeological Research's publications from 1975 through the present.

Library Stacks Browser's Guide

Print materials at the UTSA Libraries are arranged by Library of Congress call numbers so that books on similar subjects are shelved together. Below are some call number ranges relevant to North American archaeology.
Also see: Library of Congress Call Number Classifications

STACKS CC's

> Archaeological atlases, dictionaries and encyclopedias
> General works on archaeology, atlases, dictionaries and encyclopedias

STACKS E70's

> Encyclopedias on Native Americans
> Handbook of American Indians North of Mexico (E76.2 .H6)

STACKS GN's

> Anthropology dictionaries and encyclopedias
> Abstracts in Anthropology (GN1 .A15)
> Anthropological Index (GN1 .R67)
> Atlas of Ancient Archaeology (GN739 .H38)

STACKS E's

> Begins archaeology and anthropology in the Americas and other works on Native Americans

STACKS GN700's

> Begins prehistoric archaeology