Newspapers & News Articles

News resources current and historical

Find a Newspaper or Journal Subscription

Free Wall Street Journal subscription for UTSA students, faculty and staff

Wall Street Journal Website FAQ

What Content is in the Wall Street Journal website?

The Wall Street Journal website has articles from the print and online version, videos, podcasts, blogs,
4-year news archive, 1 week full page images, audio, graphics, industry data, classroom resources, WSJ Magazine, e-books, newsletters and alerts, and access to special events.

How do I create a PDF file?

  • When you are in the article you want, choose: Share > Print > Save as PDF . 

Can I email articles to myself or others?

  • There's an option to email links to articles. If the recipient is not a WSJ subscriber, choose "free article"

Can I get full page image of the current newspaper?

  • Click on the link “print edition” under WSJ banner and then choose “Read WSJ Print edition”. You can view one week of page images. Click on the share icon to download an article as a PDF file. You can also have the image of the print version sent to you by choosing

How do I view a list of articles in the print edition?

  • Go to “print edition” under WSJ banner and click “Read Stories” button to view a list of articles by date, going back three months by categories: Front Page, U.S. News, World News, Life & Arts, Opinion, Business & Finance. 

Is there a news archive?

  • Four years of archived articles.

How do I find articles older than 4 years from the Wall Street Journal?

  • For older articles, consult ProQuest versions listed on the Newspapers Research Guide.  
    • Wall Street Journal Historical (1889-2010) full image (ProQuest)
    • Wall Street Journal (1923-current) text only (ProQuest)
    • Wall Street Journal online (2010-current) text only (ProQuest)

How do I search for articles or topics?

  • Use the search feature by clicking on the magnifying glass Icon

Description automatically generated and typing in search terms. (covid and workforce, for example).
  •  That search page also gives you the option to go to an Advanced Search where you can pick specific dates or date ranges (up to 4 years) and choose specific formats (articles, videos, blogs, etc.)
  • Be aware newspaper articles may have slightly different titles in different editions.

How do I search for an exact article?

  • You can search by title or author. Since titles vary between editions, author or author and a keyword may be your best bet.

Does WSJ.com have a citation generator?

  • The Wall Street Journal website does not have a built-in citation generator.
  • For citation examples, see: Santa Fe College guide.  

Basic WSJ CitationTemplate:

APA

Author Last Name, Author Initials. (if available) (Full Date). Title of article. The Wall Street Journal. URL

  • Example: Corse, A, (October 31, 2022). Elon Musk Is Forming Circle of Advisers as He Reimagines Twitter, The Wall Street Journal. https://www.wsj.com/articles/elon-musk-is-forming-circle-of-advisers-as-he-reimagines-twitter-11667257591?mod=itp_wsj&ru=yahoo

MLA

Author. "Title of Article." The Wall Street Journal, Full Date. URL.

Chicago: Author-Date

Author. Year. "Title of Article." The Wall Street Journal, Full Date. URL.

Chicago: Notes & Bibliography

Author. "Title of Article." The Wall Street Journal, Full Date. URL.

Questions? Contact rita.wilson@utsa.edu  

1/30/2023

Current News in Major Newspapers in UTSA Databases

Many newspapers have two (or more) versions: Articles from print and web versions may appear in separate database files. The "online" versions typically contain content from blogs, podcasts, and web only articles. Note: all content from blogs, podcasts and web only articles may not be included in subscription databases such as ProQuest.

Also see Historical Newspapers tab for older editions.

New York Times (Current News)

Many newspapers have two (or more) editions: Articles from print and web versions may appear in separate database files. The "online" versions typically contain content from blogs, podcasts, and web only articles. Also see New York Times Historical database for full image 1851 - 2018) . 


Not all features, including graphics and interactive online features, are available through our databases. Register for one-day access to the online New York Times through the San Antonio Public Library. San Antonio Public Library NYT at SAPL Click on "Special Code" to set up an account.

Major Journals with Current News