- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Newspapers & News Articles
Newspapers & News Articles
Newspapers and news journals current and historical
Historical Newspapers
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to newspapers from urban to rural regions, large cities to small towns across the U.S. Includes newspapers published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and others. Coverage: 1800-1899.
- African American Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new windowA large collection of full-text / full-image African American newspapers from all around the country. Covers the 19th and 20th centuries.
- African American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926 (History Commons) This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers in the South, 1870-1926 has been subdivided into four parts, these newspapers provide a unique journalistic record of the African American experience in segregated southern America. Includes all complete runs of representative newspapers from the District of Columbia, Georgia, Louisiana, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and West Virginia.
- African American Newspapers ListList of historical African-American newspapers and media outlets. (Wikipedia)
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America (Adam Matthew) This link opens in a new window
Covers 1828-2016. Formerly known as American Indian Newspapers.
A collection of 45 unique titles from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada that includes national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from tribal communities of the Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Comanche, Ho-Chunk, Navajo, and Osage, among others. Key topics include activism and protest, American Indian Movement, sovereignty, cultural promotion and language revitalization, public health and welfare, education, and more.
- Associated Press Video ArchiveFilm and video archive of The Associated Press, 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories, which date back to 1893.
AP videos also included in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- Austin American Statesman (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1871-1980. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Especially strong in central Texas political reporting.
- British Library Newspapers (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDigitized collection of local and regional British newspapers from the nineteenth to the early twentieth century.
- Chicago Defender (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers: 1909–2010. Highly influential Black newspaper. Founded in 1905, it served as the de facto national Black newspaper in the U.S. It played a significant role in the Great Migration, encouraging Black migration to the North. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Chicago Tribune (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1849-1999. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Christian Science Monitor (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1908-2009. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch and view more than a million digitized newspaper pages. Coverage is from 1756-1963. Sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Dallas Morning News Historical Archive (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowA historical archive of one of Texas's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record for major news, key events, and personalities in Texas history. Broad state and regional coverage, from 1885-1977.
- El Paso Herald and El Paso Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEl Paso Times (1881-2009) and El Paso Herald (1896-1996). Includes the complete paper cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Google News Newspaper Archive BrowseGoogle discontinued its newspaper digitization project. Existing content, about 60 million pages from 2,000 newspapers, remains available.
- Guardian and Observer (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowBritish newspaper covering 1791-2003. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de MéxicoDigital National Newspaper Archives of Mexico. Search over 600 newspapers from 1722 to 1978. In Spanish
- Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980 (Readex) This link opens in a new windowA collection of hundreds of searchable full-text / full-image newspapers published in the United States by Hispanics during the 19th and 20th centuries. Papers may be in Spanish, English, or both Spanish and English. Based on Nicolás Kanellos' "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project."
- Historic Mexican and Mexican American PressHistoric Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch the full-text/full-image of several major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2019), Washington Post (1877-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), Guardian (1821-2003) Observer (1791-2003), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), and the Chicago Defender (1909-2010), El Paso Times (1881-2009), El Paso Herald (1896-1996). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.
- HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowProvides electronic access to the complete historical backfile of the journal Harper's Weekly, published between 1857 and 1912. Included are full images of articles from the weekly publication, as well as original advertising and illustrations, providing a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of world events and society in the last half of the 19th and the early years of the 20th centuries.
- Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers (EastView Press) This link opens in a new windowA growing collection of newspapers from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods providing rare documentation of the dramatic events including partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news. Collection will eventually contain over 1,000 titles. (1807-1929)
- Internet Archive: NewspapersThe newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
- L.A./Los Angeles Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1881-1999. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- National Geographic Magazine ArchiveFull image (1888-2020)
- New York Amsterdam News (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers: 1922–2010. A leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reaching its peak in the 1940s. The paper was a strong advocate for desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- New York Times (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1851-2020. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- New York Times (ProQuest Recent Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFull-page images of the New York Times print edition digitized from microfilm. Search full text or browse by date. Date coverage: 2008 to 3 months ago. For current articles see: ProQuest New York Times.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides access to journal and newspaper articles in a number of databases across all subject areas, with particular strengths in business and the social sciences. Contains complete content of: ABI/INFORM Collection, Accounting & Tax, Alt-Press Watch, American Periodicals, ARTbibliographies Modern, British Periodicals, Computer and Information Systems Abstracts, Design and Applied Arts Index, ERIC, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, GeoRef, Historical Newspapers, International Bibliography of Art, International Index to Music Periodicals, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, MLA International Bibliography, PAIS, Periodicals Archive Online, PILOTS, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, ProQuest Biological Collection, Psychology Database, PsycArticles, ProQuest Research Library, Social Service Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Technology Research, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. For complete descriptions see individual entries for each database.
- San Antonio Express-News (NewsBank) This link opens in a new window2018-current – full image
1990-current (text only) Excludes articles excerpted from other news sources, paid ads and obituaries.
1867-2018 – full image (incomplete)
2016-current – (text only) Web edition articles
Other sources:
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm: AN2 .S3 E9 (1868 - current) (with gaps)
Index (print): JPL 3rd Floor AI21 .S3 S26 (1988-1995)
San Antonio Express-News Photograph Collection (1941-1989) - San Antonio Express (Historical) (NewsBank) This link opens in a new windowFull-image of Texas’ oldest major newspaper, which began as a weekly in 1865. Includes ads, classifieds, photos & graphics as well as local, national and international news stories. Collection is still being digitized with more issues forthcoming.
Current coverage: 1867-1875, 1898-1906, 1911-2018
- Express News ChronologyJanuary 23, 2015 article
Weekly newspaper in 1865 now a multimedia company
1865-2013 history
- San Antonio Register This link opens in a new windowLocally focused, black-oriented weekly newspaper available full image 1931-2000 in the Portal of Texas History.
Legacy San Antonio Register Index (May 29, 1931 - 1959) online.
- Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Historical Archive (Gale) This link opens in a new windowOriginally a weekly supplement to The Times (London), TLS later became a leading international forum covering all areas of the humanities and social sciences including literature, history, science, politics, cinema, medicine, music, religion, and art. Many of the world's leading writers, critics, and thinkers have contributed topical essays and criticisms to the TLS. Coverage: 1902-2014.
More current versions of Time Literary Supplement are available in text format, 2012 - current.
- Wall Street Journal (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1889-2012. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.
- Washington Post (Historical) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowCovers 1877-2008. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.