Newspapers & News Articles

ABI/INFORM contains a broad array of business information comprised of ABI/INFORM Global (scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, SSRN working papers, business cases and global and trade news), ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry (Trade, Industry-focused information - journal articles, market reports, industry reports and news), ABI/INFORM Dateline (hard to find local, city, state and regional publications).

Spanish-language news sources published in the original language from U.S., Argentina, Brazil, Chile, China, Colombia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru and Spain.

Indexes and abstracts more than 9,300 journals with full-text content for more than 5,300. Also indexes/abstracts over 10,000 monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Highly multidisciplinary, this resource covers social sciences, humanities, computer science, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

NewsBank database of selected full-text news articles from thousands of U.S., African, Asian, Australian, and European newspapers, newswires, and blogs. Most sources are in English with some Spanish-language sources from the Americas. Does not include paid advertising, photographs, or images.
-- Texas newspapers
-- Access Business News

via Readex. Includes 270 African American Newspapers from 19th & 20th centuries.

A collection of eleven notable 19th century African American newspapers. Full image and transcripts.

285 regional newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Features full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 500 local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid advertising is excluded. Dates of coverage vary. Updated daily.

Covers 1828-2016. A collection of 45 unique titles from Indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada that includes national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from tribal communities of the Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Comanche, Ho-Chunk, Navajo, and Osage, among others. Key topics include activism and protest, American Indian Movement, sovereignty, cultural promotion and language revitalization, public health and welfare, education, and more.

Full-image of this important Texas newspaper in the state capital. Includes ads, classifieds, photos & graphics as well as local, national and international news stories. Especially strong in central Texas political reporting.
Coverage: 1871-1980

Covers 1847-1998. Includes the complete paper-cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format.

No. 1 source of news, information, and job opportunities for college and university community. Contains full content of current issue; essays, daily news and advice columns; archived issues since 1989 searchable by keyword; discussion forums; salary databases; and data from the Almanac of Higher Education. Register to receive RSS feeds or email newsletters. Updated daily.

Contains full-text nonpartisan weekly reports on U.S. Congressional legislation and politics since 1983 and roll call votes since 1995. Previously called CQ Weekly.

Articles in English translation from a variety of key Chinese newspapers on such topics as politics, international relations, security, economics, business, public health, environment, education, and culture. All articles are explicitly targeted to a domestic – not foreign – audience and provide a comprehensive, broad-survey understanding of current events as reported by mass media in the People’s Republic of China. 2011- current

Covers 1885-1977. A historical archive with 1.2 million pages from the Dallas Morning News, one of the state's oldest continuously published newspapers and a paper of record for major news and key events and personalities in Texas history.

Provides full-text articles from more than 250 newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the United States by the ethnic, minority, and native press. Includes full-text articles from the noted San Antonio bilingual newspaper, La Prensa de San Antonio. The database is searchable both in English and Spanish; esta base de datos ofrece un interfase en inglés o en español.

Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston.

Search the full-text/full-image of seven major U.S. and two major British newspapers: New York Times (1851-2018), Washington Post (1877-2005), Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2008), Los Angeles Times (1881-1997), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Austin American Statesman (1871-1980), the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003). Coverage begins with the first issue of each title.

A digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals covering the latter half of the 20th century. Included are periodicals produced by Hispanics, Black Power advocates, Native Americans, LGBT activists, feminists, campus radicals, dissident GIs, anti-war activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines.

Dates of coverage: 1950-2015

More than 280 newspapers published during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Includes titles from more than 20 countries in the region, from Argentina to Venezuela.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) provides full text access to 15,000 news, business and legal sources Includes U.S., international and foreign language news. To search a current day’s newspaper use “A Publication” box, choose a news source from word wheel under “Find Publication” and after search limit by date in Timeline. Major newspapers include New York TImes. Updated daily.
(For Wall Street Journal or Washington Post full text see ProQuest One Academic)

Provides electronic access to a number of resources on political science and policy produced by The National Journal, including the periodicals The National Journal, Congress Daily, and Technology Daily; The Almanac of American Politics, providing analysis and data on members of Congress and their states and districts; Poll Track, a database of public opinion surveys from across the country; information on the status of bills before the U.S. Congress; The Hotline, a daily briefing on U.S. political news; and Ad Spotlight, which features news and analysis of political advertisements.

Full-text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, journals and magazines, newswires, government documents, and worldwide radio and TV broadcasts.

Searchable full image access to many historical Texas Newspapers including the San Antonio Light (1882 -1977) and the San Antonio Express News (1865-1974). (Some years are incomplete.)

Features full text for some 200 regional U.S. newspapers, 30 international newspapers, newswires, select newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times. Coverage of Middle Eastern and Asian-Pacific newspapers, such as the Jakarta Post, the Hong Kong Standard, Jordan Today, and The Australian, is particularly notable. Also contains full-text television and radio news transcripts.

Indexes articles in the Times of London from 1790 through 1905. Full-text images are available for the years 1800-1870.

ProQuest One Academic, includes four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global cross-searchable on the same ProQuest platform. Coverage: 1970 - current.
Best source for many current newspapers including New York Times, Washington Post and Wall Street Journal.

Full-text news reports from global business newswires, including coverage of 75 U.S., Latin American, European, Canadian, and African sources.

2018-current – full image
1990-current (text only) Excludes articles excerpted from other news sources, paid ads and obituaries.
1867-2018 – full image
2016-current – (text only) Web edition articles

Other sources:
JPL 4th Floor Microfilm: AN 2 .S3 E9 (1868 - current)
Index (print): JPL 3rd Floor AI21 .S3 S26 (1988-1995)
San Antonio Express-News Photograph Collection (1941-1984)

Full-image of Texas’ oldest major newspaper, which began as a weekly in 1865. Includes ads, classifieds, photos & graphics as well as local, national and international news stories. Collection is still being digitized with more issues forthcoming.
Current coverage: 1867 - 1875, 1898-1906, 1911-1925