- Find Information
- Research Guides
- ES 4213/BIO 4033: Conservation Biology (Young)
ES 4213/BIO 4033: Conservation Biology (Young)
Writing in the Sciences
Scientific writing or science writing usually refers to research articles reporting original research in journals. Science writing also includes other kinds of writing such as review articles (which summarize and synthesize previous research articles on a specific topic), annotated bibliographies (which aid others in performing their research), abstracts or notes (which summarize experiments or studies), and grant proposals (which seek funding for research). The point of science writing is for a scientist to communicate with an audience of peers. Since the purpose is communication and not entertainment, scientific writing should be precise, clear and objective.
Here are some resources to help you write for academic science audiences:
- How to Write a Good Scientific Paper - by Chris A. Mack
Free PDF Download
ISBN 9781510619135
Publication Date: 2018
Writing for a peer-reviewed scientific or engineering journal requires learning and executing a specific formula for presenting scientific work. This book is all about teaching the style and conventions of writing for a peer-reviewed scientific journal. From structure to style, titles to tables, abstracts to author lists, this book gives practical advice about the process of writing a paper and getting it published
Writing Scientific Research Articles by ISBN: 9781118570661Publication Date: 2013This book shows scientists how to apply their analysis and synthesis skills to overcoming the challenge of how to write, as well as what to write, to maximise their chances of publishing in international scientific journals. The book uses analysis of the scientific article genre to provide clear processes for writing each section of a manuscript, starting with clear 'story' construction and packaging of results. Each learning step uses practical exercises to develop writing and data presentation skills based on reader analysis of well-written example papers. Strategies are presented for responding to referee comments, and for developing discipline-specific English language skills for manuscript writing and polishing. The book is designed for scientists who use English as a first or an additional language, and for individual scientists or mentors or a class setting. In response to reader requests, the new edition includes review articles and the full range of research article formats, as well as applying the book's principles to writing funding applications. Web support for this book is available at www.writeresearch.com.au
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor T11 .D33 2006ISBN: 9780313330278Publication Date: 2006To be useful, scientific research needs to be explained clearly to others--to colleagues, to administrators, to foundations and governmental bodies, and to the public. This thoroughly revised edition of the classic How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper gives beginning scientists and experienced researchers alike practical advice on writing about their work and publishing what they write. The core of the book consists of a how-to guide to writing and publishing research articles for scientific journals, explaining every step of the process, from choosing a suitable journal for your work to presenting the results and citing references. How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper is the essential guide every scientist needs to achieve success in today's competitive environment. This revised edition of How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper provides such practical advice for anyone working in any scientific discipline who needs to communicate his or her work effectively to others.
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor, Q180.55.M4 F56 2014ISBN: 9781452259499Publication Date: 2013Ideal for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals, this new edition includes: - Nearly a hundred online examples and references from the social, behavioural, and health sciences - A revised and updated list of online articles databases - Case studies in the use of major online databases (e.g., the Web of Science) - Expansion of the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching - Clarification of some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods - Explanation of the major available formal systems (such as CONSORT, TREND, PRISMA) for evaluating the literature′s transparency and quality - More qualitative research examples and guidelines and checklists for evaluating their quality - Discussion and examples of mixed-methods research - Additional examples of how to write up reviews and how others have done it.
Science Research Writing by Call Number: JPL 3rd Floor, PE1475 .G57 2010ISBN: 1848163096Publication Date: 2009This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. It can also be used by English speakers and is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate. The approach is based on material developed from teaching graduate students at Imperial College London and has been extensively piloted. The book guides the reader through the process of writing science research and will also help with writing a Master's or Doctoral thesis in English.Science writing is much easier than it looks because the structure and language are conventional. The aim of this book is to help the reader discover a template or model for science research writing and then to provide the grammar and vocabulary tools needed to operate that model. There are five units: Introduction, Methodology, Results, Discussion/Conclusion and Abstract. The reader develops a model for each section of the research article through sample texts and exercises; this is followed by a Grammar and Writing Skills section designed to respond to frequently-asked questions as well as a Vocabulary list including examples of how the words and phrases are to be used.
Citation Managers
Citations managers are software programs that allow you to import citations directly from the any of the databases, including Library Quick Search and Google Scholar, and simply insert them into a Word document minimizing the frustration that comes with inserting citations like proper format, style, case, and other pieces that vary from one citation style to another.
Check the links below for more information about a couple of the most popular citation managers that UTSA students use. No matter which citation manager you choose, you're certain to simplify the citaiton process!
If you prefer to cite manually, you can use the guide below for quick help and links to the citation resources (e.g. APA Style Manual)