ES 4213/BIO 4033: Conservation Biology (Young)

Course research guide for Conservation Biology (ES 4213/BIO 4033) with Gwen Young

Environmental Databases

These databases are focused on environmental sciences and are a good place to find in-depth research related to the environment and conservation. Because of this focus, you may have trouble searching for broader information.

Agricola (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
(AGRICultural OnLine Access) Consists of two freely accessible, web-based resources published by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions. The Online Public Access Catalog describes books, serials, audiovisuals, and other resources held by the National Agricultural Library. The Journal Article Citation Index describes journal articles, book chapters, reports, reprints, and other research literature on agriculture and related fields such as chemistry, energy, food science, geography, life science, natural resources, and veterinary medicine.
Environment Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts hundreds of U.S. and international journals covering the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. Also includes conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations, and private corporations. Expanded coverage of energy-related issues is available beginning in 1994.

Environment Science Collection (ProQuest)
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides the most complete collection of resources available to support this multidisciplinary field. The collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Pollution Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides summaries of over 950 scientific research publications and government policies relating to all types of environmental pollution. Emphasis is on information needed to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations. Pollution Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
Sustainability Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The Sustainability Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability and corporate social responsibility. Offering content from more than 800 publications including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, the Sustainability Reference Center provides the greatest concentration of sustainability-related information available today.
Sustainability Science Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 400 journals, as well as papers, reports, books, conference proceedings, and reviews on the sustainability of natural resources. Sustainability Science Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.
Water Resources Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 1,000 international technical and scientific publications on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal, and government publications. Water Resources Abstracts is a subfile of Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection.