- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Cite It Right
Cite It Right
Turabian Style: A Manual for Writers
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.
Call Number: LB2369 .T8 2013ISBN: 9780226494425Publication Date: 2018-04-16
Have Questions on Citing?
Use Chat
Turabian Styles
Like Chicago, Turabian includes two types of citations:
- Notes-bibliography style: includes footnotes or endnotes. Usually includes a bibliography.
- Author-date style: sources are included in the text as author's last name and the date of publication in parentheses. The text is followed by a list of references with full citations.
Note Bibliography Style
1. Author, "Article Title," Journal Title vol,no (Publication Date) : pages, accessed date, DOI.
2. Author, "Article Title," pages.
Author last name, author first name. "Author Title." Journal Title vol.no (Publication Date): pages. Accessed date. DOI.
Example:
1. Dana Rowland, "Candy Crush Combinatorics," The College Mathematics Journal 46, no.4 (September 2015) : 255, accessed July 16, 2016, http://10.4169/college.math.j.46.4.255.
2. Rowland, "Candy Crush Combinatorics," 259.
Rowland, Dana. "Candy Crush Combinatorics." The College Mathematics Journal 46, no. 4 (September 2015): 250 - 265. Accessed July 16, 2016. http://10.4169/college.math.j.46.4.255
1. "Article Title." Website Title, last modified date, accessed date, website address.
2. Author/Corportate Author, "Article TItle."
Author/Corporate Author. "Article Title." Website Title. Last modified date. Accessed date. Website address.
Example:
1. "AHA Speaks Out Against Actions in Turkey." News & Advocacy, last modified July 26, 2016, accessed August 10, 2016, https://www.historians.org/news-and-advocacy.
2. American Historical Association, "AHA Speaks Out Against Actions in Turkey."
American Historical Association. "AHA Speaks Out Against Actions in Turkey." News & Advocacy. Last modified July 26, 2016. Accessed August 10, 2016. https://www.historians.org/news-and-advocacy.
1. Author, Book Title (Place of publication: Publisher, Publication date), pages.
2. Author, Book Title, pages.
Author last name, first name. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, Publication Date.
Example:
1. Sarah N. Roth, Gender and Race in Antebellum Popular Culture (New York: Cambridge University Press, 2014), 189.
2. Roth, Gender and Race, 52.
Roth, Sarah N. Gender and Race in Antebellum Popular Culture. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2014.
Author Date Style
Author last name, first name. Year of Publication. "Article Title." Journal Title vol, no (Publication date): pages. Accessed date. DOI.
(Author Publication Year, pages)
Example:
Rowland, Dana. 2015. "Candy Crush Combinatorics." The College Mathematics Journal 26, no.4 (September): 250 - 265. Accessed July 16, 2016. http://10.4169/college.math.j.46.4.255.
(Rowland 2015, 252)
Author. Publication Year. "Article Title." Website Title. Last modified date. Accessed date. Website.
(Author Publication Year)
American Historical Association. 2016. "AHA Speaks Out Against Actions in Turkey." News & Advocacy. Last modified July 26. Accessed August 10, 2016. https://www.historians.org/news-and-advocacy.
(American Historical Association 2016)
Author last name, first name. Year of Publication. Book Title. Place of Publication: Publisher.
(Author Year of Publication, pages)
Example:
Roth, Sarah N. 2014. Gender and Race in Antebellum Popular Culture. New York: Cambridge University Press.
(Roth 2014, 18-19)