- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Cite It Right
Cite It Right
MLA Style Guide
- MLA Handbook Plus This link opens in a new windowContains the full MLA Handbook with information about how to fully format and provide citations in the MLA citation style. Currently the ninth edition.
MLA Handbook by Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009ISBN: 9781603292627Publication Date: 2016In this latest edition of the handbook, MLA provides one universal set of guidelines that are applied to any type of source. The handbook also provides guidance in evaluating sources, shows how to cite sources, and teaches how to create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Have Questions on Citing?
Use Chat
MLA Core Elements
MLA citations are all built on the following core elements listed in the order below. Your citation may not include all of these elements. If your source is part of a something larger (an essay in a book, a video on a website, an article in a database), it may require two containers. Make sure to check the MLA Handbook or OWL for any questions.
| 1. Author |
| 2. Title of source. |
Container 1
| 3. Title of container, |
| 4. Other contributors, |
| 5. Version, |
| 6. Number, |
| 7. Publisher, |
| 8. Publication date, |
| 9. Location. |
Example:
Author last name, first name. Title. Title of container (self contained if book), Other contributors (translators or editors), Version (edition), Number (vol. and/or no.), Publisher, Publication Date, Location (pages, paragraphs URL or DOI). 2nd container’s title, Other contributors, Version, Number, Publisher, Publication date, Location, Date of Access (if applicable).
MLA Style
Author last name, first name. "Title of article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #, publication date, pp. #-#. Name of database, web address.
Example:
Evett, Harry and Daniel Forrest. "Space Tomatoes." Young Scientists Journal, vol. 19, July 2016, p. 29. Proquest Research Library,
http://search.proquest.com/docview/1807741201?pq-origsite=summon.
Author last name, first name (if available). "Title of source." Title of container, Other contributors, Publisher, Publication Date, Location.
Example:
"Splendid Isolation, the Big Bend..." Big Bend: National Park Service, U.S. Department if the Interior, www.nps.gov/bibe/index.htm.
Author last name, first name. Title of book, Version (if available), Publisher, Publication Date, Pages.
Vergine, Lea. Body Art and Performance: the body as language. Skira, 2000.