- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Census Reports & Statistics
Census Reports & Statistics
Federal, State & International Census statistics and reports
U.S. Decennial Census & American Community Survey
Decennial Census
The Census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities, draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion seats each State holds in Congress.
- Decennial Census Official PublicationsChoose a publication year to see the official census as well as related reports. Available in easy to load PDF files.
- Census of Population and Housing (1790-2020)Full Census reports in PDF & Zip files.
Also available from IPUMS (Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota) - Questions on Decennial Census (1790-2020)Questions that were asked on Population and Housing Censuses.
- Microfilm Edition of United States Decennial Census Publications, 1790-1970JPL 4th Floor, end of LC microfilm C 3.2: (247 reels) Includes: population, economic, housing, manufacturing, mining, agriculture
JPL 3rd Floor Guide and Reel Index Z7554 U5 R47 1975 - Geographic Areas Reference Manual (GARM)Describes in great detail the basic geographic entities the Census Bureau used in its various data tabulations
- Census Atlas of the United States: Census 2000 Special ReportsPrint: JPL 3rd Floor, Oversize G1201.E2 U5 2007
A variety of topics are covered in the Census Atlas, ranging from language and ancestry characteristics to housing patterns and the geographic distribution of the population. A majority of the maps in the Census Atlas present data at the county level, but data also are sometimes mapped by state, census tract (for largest cities and metropolitan areas), and for selected American Indian reservations. - ICPSR - U.S. Census Data RepositoryA new U.S. Census Bureau Data Repository was launched to preserve and disseminate survey instruments, specifications, data dictionaries, codebooks, and other materials provided by the Census Bureau. The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), the host of this repository, has also listed additional Census-related data collections from its larger holdings.
American Community Survey
- American Community Survey (ACS)ACS is an annual sample survey which replaced the Decennial Census long form in 2006. Data is available through data.census.gov
> What questions are asked on the ACS and why? Questions on ACS
> Handbooks for Data Users (American Community Survey)
> Comparing 2012 ACS Data - Questions on the American Community SurveyQuestions from the form, how long question has been in use, description of how the federal government uses the data, and how those uses translate into community benefits.
- Census Bureau GlossaryFind official definitions covering all topics, censuses, surveys and programs. The Census Bureau adheres to scientific methods and uses precise technical terminology that may be unfamiliar.
data.census.gov
2000 & 2010 Census
The 2000 Census was taken April 1, 2000; almost all data is available through the U.S. Census Bureau's database American FactFinder
There were only 10 questions on the 2010 decennial Census. What were they? 2010 Census questions
- Decennial Census Official PublicationsFor 1790 to current. Official census as well as related reports. Available in easy to load PDF files.
- data.census.gov (Explore Census Data) This link opens in a new windowPrimary search tool to browse and access U.S. census data and build custom, downloadable tables, charts, reports, maps and data visualizations. Includes detailed data on population, housing, economics, and geographies from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Economic Census and other surveys.
Topics and geographies are easy to search using the single search bar, or access more detailed data using the filters in the Advanced Search option.
Access data.census.gov tutorials.
Census Geographies
- U.S. Census Geography ProgramGeography is central to the work of the Census Bureau, providing the framework for survey design, sample selection, data collection, tabulation, and dissemination.
- Geographic Areas Reference Manual (GARM)Describes in great detail the basic geographic entities the Census Bureau used in its various data tabulations
- Census Atlas of the United States: Census 2000 Special ReportsPrint: JPL 3rd Floor, Oversize G1201.E2 U5 2007
A variety of topics are covered in the Census Atlas, ranging from language and ancestry characteristics to housing patterns and the geographic distribution of the population. A majority of the maps in the Census Atlas present data at the county level, but data also are sometimes mapped by state, census tract (for largest cities and metropolitan areas), and for selected American Indian reservations.
Secondary Government Statistics
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowAn authoritative and comprehensive summary of U.S. social, political and economic data from Federal and State agencies as well as private organizations. All tables are available for download in PDF and Excel formats. Check original sources of data to explore more detailed information. Excellent introductory essay at beginning of each topic section. Updated annually.
Earlier editions (1970-current) accessible using drop down menu. Archived government editions (1878-2012) available free at U.S. Census Bureau and Cybercemetery sites. Tip Sheet. - Historical Statistics of the U.S. (Cambridge) This link opens in a new windowHistorical statistics for the U.S. from colonial times through the 20th century, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, as well as governance and international relations. Introductory essays for each topic provide context and highlight key tables.
- Historical Statistics of the United States 1789-1957A supplement to the Statistical Abstract of the United States; prepared by the Bureau of the Census with the cooperation of the Social Science Research Council.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowStatistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.
Census History
- U.S. Census Bureau Catalog and Guide / Catalog of United States Census Publications, 1790-1945.via HathiTrust Catalogs describing historic data products issued by the Census Bureau. Provides abstracts of the publications, maps, CD-ROMs, computer tapes, diskettes, and items on line. Also describes programs and services. 1790-1990.
- Questions on Decennial Census (1790-2020)Questions that were asked on Population and Housing Censuses.
- Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census: From the Constitution to the American Community SurveyCQ Press, 2012, via Sage Knowledge
- Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920Print: JPL 3rd Floor G1201 .F7 T5 1987
Shows U.S. county boundary maps for census decades superimposed on modern county boundaries. Gives background information on each census, including census availability for each county. - A Census Analysis of American Villages: Being a Study of the 1920 Census Data for 177 Villages Scattered Over the United StatesPrint: JPL Stacks HA730.A1 F7 1925
- Statistical Annals: Embracing Views of the Population, Commerce, Navigation, Fisheries, Public Lands, Post-office Establishment , , 1789-1818Available from HathiTrust 1818
By Adam Seybert, a member of the House of Representatives from Pennsylvania. Exploration of Population Census, calculated population growth rates by state, speculated on size of immigration population. Summarized most of the statistical data that had been collected by the Federal government since 1789, as well as some state and local data.
