- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Country Profiles & Data
Country Profiles & Data
Sources of profiles & statistical information for foreign countries & U.S..
Trade Statistics
- Trade.gov: Country and Industry Market ResearchInternational Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce, site for economic data, international trade data, and government publications. See especially the Country Commercial Guides (below), annual reports prepared by U.S. Embassy personnel containing business, economic and political information as it affects investment.
- Country Commercial GuidesExamine each country's trade regulations and investment practices, and present a comprehensive look at the commercial environment in various countries.
- Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (DOTS)Publication Date: 1970-currentOnline through IMF eLibrary
Summary and analytical tables showing trade flows for the world and major areas and country pages providing detailed trade-by country data on exports and imports for the most recent seven years. Predefined Data Reports IMF eLibrary Data
Older editions in print HF1016 .I652a (1984-2008)
- International Trade Census.govForeign trade guides, import and export statistics, international trade in goods and services, classifications of products, countries, and more.
- International Trade Statistics Yearbook (1992-2022)This is the most comprehensive source of trade data available. Published by United Nations Department of International Economic and Social Affairs. Divided into two volumes: Trade by Country and Trade by Commodity. Includes statistics on import and export including principal trading partners and price indexes for various commodities. Summary data covers past 25 years. Also see Foreign Trade Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Office of the United States Trade Representative, Office of the PresidentOffice responsible for setting and administering overall trade policy for the U.S.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowFocus on consumer goods and services. Provides access to market research data, country reports, company profiles, and statistics on countries, consumers, and industries for over 350 markets and 205 countries. Demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide, as well as several years of historic market size data for many consumer products in multiple countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Consumer lifestyles, companies and brands. Formerly known as GMID (Global Market Information Database).
- STAT-USA linksLinks for free government data sites previously in STAT-USA. Note: STAT-USA ceased on Sept. 30, 2010.
- UNCTADStatThe United Nations Conference on Trade & Development provides access to comprehensive statistical time series and indicators essential for the analysis of world trade, investment, international financial flows, and development. Harmonized data from national and international sources ensures data consistency. Topics cover international merchandise & services trade, foreign direct investment, economic trends, commodities, creative economies, maritime transport and more.
- USA Trade Online This link opens in a new windowOfficial source for U.S. export and import data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Provides current and cumulative statistics on a monthly, annual, and year-to-date basis. Select broad commodity classification categories using the Harmonized System (HS) and North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes. Users must set up a free individual account. Updated monthly.
- DATA GEM: Learn How to Easily Find Export and Import Data With USA Trade Online5 minute introduction from the U.S. Census.
- U. S. International Trade CommissionInteractive Tariff and Trade data web. Requires a free registration.
- World Trade Organization OnlineSite provides quantitative and qualitative information on economic and trade policy issues.
- Year In TradeCommission publication of U.S. trade-related activities, covering major multilateral, regional, and bilateral developments. (Current and historic)
- U.S. Foreign Trade Highlights (1984-1996)Archived annual publication from Department of Commerce (1984-1996). Ceased publication
