Amnesty International works to promote all the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international standards. The Amnesty International site documents human rights violations in 150 countries and territories.
Description and analysis of the historical, social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress and sponsored by the Department of the Army.
Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers from NGOs, research projects, proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. (1991-current)
Part of the Canadian Foreign Service Institute of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, the Centre is Canada's largest provider of cross-cultural and international training services for internationally-assigned government and private sector personnel.
Provides access to select EIU publications, including Country Commerce, a guide to operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations in 55 countries. Also included are Country Reports for China, Singapore, and Taiwan, as well as Country Risk Briefings, and Country Forecast for China only.
"Eldis is a gateway to online information on development in countries of the South. Coverage includes social, economic, political and environmental issues. Eldis makes a qualitative selection of materials and structures it for easy access." Funded by the Danish development agency DANIDA and hosted by the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex, UK.
From the Air Force's Culture and Language Center arranged geographically by U.S. military command regions. The guides are designed to help US forces achieve mission success in culturally complex environments.
Contains the full text of over 915 volumes of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in a variety of disciplines. Fully cross-searchable across different resources, including Cities of the World, Countries and Their Cultures, Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook, and Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies. Updated regularly. Title List
Reports submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress. The reports cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Country profiles chronicling national history, government, and political parties, as well as profiles on intergovernmental organizations, development banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations.
Includes OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) books and reports arranged by subject area, periodicals, and interactive statistics. Topics include agriculture, developing economies, education, employment, energy, environment, migration, social issues, and sustainable development. OECD books and reports Working papers and journals
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Country-by-country survey of educational systems provides detailed essays on the histories, legal foundations, and primary and secondary educational systems of 233 countries. Gale Virtual Reference Library