Country Profiles & Data

Current, authoritative information on world affairs at the country and region level, including economic, political, and geographic background information, as well as statistical data and analysis by country. Up-to-date directory information is provided for government and politics, society and media, business and commerce, and international organizations. Bibliographies for countries and regions provide sources for further reading. Only a few people can use this database at one time.

This World Health Organization abstract database focuses on developing regions. Search results can be limited to six regions (the Americas, Europe, Western Pacific, Southeast Asia, Africa, and the Eastern Mediterranean). Many abstracts link to PubMed Linkout .

The Human Mortality Database (HMD) contains original calculations of death rates and life tables for national populations (countries or areas), as well as the input data used in constructing those tables. The input data consist of death counts from vital statistics, plus census counts, birth counts, and population estimates from various sources.

The data in the Human Mortality Database (HMD) are provided free of charge, however, you must become a registered user in order to gain full access. New users can register here.

For country information search Country Info or separately: Publication: BBC Monitoring International Reports; Business Monitor News; IHS Global Insight; BMI Country Risk Report; Political Risk Service.

Access to the International Monetary Fund’s periodicals, books working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools including datasets such as International Financial Statistics (IFS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT), and Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP). Publications from 1946 to current.

See also IMF Data.

Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP) includes over 100,000 quarterly and annual time series data on total goods, services, factor income, and current transfers an economy receives from or provides to the rest of the world; capital transfers and changes in each economy's external financial claims and liabilities; tables featuring area and world totals of balance of payments components and aggregates.

See also IMF E-Library, International Financial Statistics (IFS), Government Finance Statistics (GFS) , and Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT) .

Focus on consumer goods and services. Provides access to market research data, country reports, company profiles, and statistics on countries, consumers, and industries for over 350 markets and 205 countries. Demographic, economic, and marketing statistics for countries worldwide, as well as several years of historic market size data for many consumer products in multiple countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Consumer lifestyles, companies and brands. Formerly known as GMID (Global Market Information Database).

Replaced MarketLine. A powerful platform to explore, analyze, and compare companies, industries, and countries. Over 900,000 public and private companies worldwide across 22 sectors and 120+ subsectors from 200+ countries. Reports include case studies, profiles for companies and industries, SWOT and Five Forces analyses, analyst opinions, value and supply chain reports, macroeconomic data, and more. Additional databases include market analyzers, company filings analytics, social media analytics, deals, city profiles and city economics, global ads from leading brands, product innovation, job analytics, and news. Tools, such as the company screening tool, competitive intelligence tool, analytics hub, and others, enable deeper insights.

Search Country Profiles

Provides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.

Statistical information by U.S. Federal and State agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional, trade and independent research organizations, commercial publishers and universities. Abstracts/indexing from 1973 with significant full-text online 1995 to present. Additional older content is available on microfiche using ASI, SRI or IIS number in the record.

Provides access to geopolitical information including news, analyses, and future forecasts for various countries, arranged by region. Categories include economics/trade, energy, military, politics, and terrorism/security. Also includes podcasts and a book club forum.

Government Finance Statistics (GFS) includes data on government financial operations for 145 IMF member countries such as revenue, expenses, transactions in nonfinancial assets and financial assets and liabilities.

See also:
IMF E-Library, International Financial Statistics (IFS) , Balance of Payment Statistics (BOP) ,and Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT) .