LaTeX & BibTeX

This guide provides resources/tips for using LaTeX & BibTeX commands. While this Libguide is intended for any users, we can’t assist non-members of UTSA with any specific questions about using BibTeX and LaTex software programs or coding.

Packages In LaTex

A package is a file or collection of files containing extra LaTeX commands and programming which add new styling features or modify those already existing.

A List of LaTeX/Package Reference
Packages a to z
Using LaTeX packages
e.g 1.: \usepackage{amsmath}
e.g 2.: \usepackage{natbib}

bibliography-related packages

Handling Bibliography and Citation by \UsePackage Command: When it comes to bibliography management packages, there are three main options in LaTex:

bibtex - acts as the interface between your .bib file and your LaTeX document by formatting lists of references
natbib - Gives additional citation options and styles. Often used for journal submission
Biblatex is a modern program to process bibliography information, provides an easier and more flexible interface and a better language localization that the other two options.

BibLaTex Package

What is BibLaTex?
BibLATEX is a complete reimplementation of the bibliographic facilities provided by LATEX. Formatting of the bibliography is entirely controlled by LATEX macros, and a working knowledge of LATEX should be sufficient to design new bibliography and citation styles. BibLaTeX uses its own data backend program called “biber” to read and process the bibliographic data. With biber, BibLaTeX has many features rivalling or surpassing other bibliography systems. To mention a few:
Running LaTeX with BibLaTex vs, BibTeX
Running LaTeX → Biber → BibLaTeX
*The code should be \usepackage{biblatex}, \addbibresource{filename.bib} and \printbibliography.
**Don't use \bibliography or \bibliographystyle as they belong to BibTeX.
BibLaTex vs. Natbib Package
To display your bibliography and use citing commands, you need to use a LaTeX package. You can use either biblatex, or natbib. With the latter, your .bib file need to be processed with BibTeX. But if you use biblatex, you can process your .bib file either with biber, or with BibTeX.
What to do to switch to biblatex?
BibLaTex: Package Use (video)
BibLaTex: Bibliography Styles
BibLaTex: Basic usage