LaTeX & BibTeX

This guide provides resources/tips for using LaTeX & BibTeX commands. While this Libguide is intended for any users, we can’t assist non-members of UTSA with any specific questions about using BibTeX and LaTex software programs or coding.

Demo: Using Overleaf

Organization & File Structure within Overleaf Program

Organization & File Structure of Overleaf Program

"Home" icon on upper-left corner > Project > Title List >  Indivual Project = Folder 

Note: there are Three Panes:

  1. Left pane: Listing all the files you have for the project
    • You can downlaod, add, delete, change file, e.g.: UTSA_pic.jpg
    • Within this left pane, users must have two files together (ending in .Tex, and .Bib in order for citation of your reference to work . 
      • xyz.Tex file, e.g.: How.Tex
      • xyz.Bib file, e.g.:  goog.Bib
  2. Middle pane: Source Document place - i.e., a file with extension .Tex - where you write codes on your own
    • Text in blue color = commands that you have selected/used in the .Tex docment.
    • Text in black color = your readers can see after compiling 
    • Text in green color (after the sign %) = your note for yourself, readers can't see in the output 
  3. Right pane: output of compiling your source coding once compiled
    • Allows you to download the output Source Document  (.Tex file) - a click away
    • output - will be in pdf file  

Using \bibliographystyle and \cite

 

  • \usepackage{natbib} - 
    • A list of Useful Packages - see this link - 
    • package natbib -  Gives additional citation options and styles. Often used for journal submission.
    • more - Reference sheet for natbib usage 
  • \bibliographystyle{xyz}
    • used to specify the style of the bibliography that will be generated 
      • e.g.: \bibliographystyle{ieeetr}
    • Other commonly used bibliography style 
    • In the middle of the page > under "Table of stylename values" > listing examples of output of  
      • acm
      • ieeetr
      • plain  -  
  • \cite{xyz} 
    • used to cite a reference in the text of a document. Three following examples used within a doc called - How.Tex
    • \cite{latexcompanion}, 
    • \cite{einstein}
    • \cite{knuthwebsite}. 
  • \bibliography{xyz}
    • used to generate a bibliography of the references that have been cited in the document. 
    • E.g.: a file named "sample.bib"  - that is located on the left pane of the project "bib.tex - how to use CIte"
    • Detailed records of the above three cites (references) actually exist within the file "sample.bib": 
      • Please note the first line  of each record, all starting with @:, ending in a unque key enclosed in curly braces e.g.: 
        • @article{einstein
        • @misc{knuthwebsite  
      • So a  coding line used with \cite the source doc - How.Tex 
        • \cite{knuthwebsite}
      • Its output of the above coding in the ieeetr style -
        •  {3] D. Knuth, “Knuth: Computers and typesetting.”  -