Texas State Government

Texas Codes and Statutes from Texas Legislature Online. Browse code or search.

Texas Statutes & Codes Annotated (LexisNexis) includes all laws of a general and permanent nature, as enacted by the Texas Legislature.
> To search a specific code include a Heading term in your search. Example: Heading(penal code) and alcohol.
> To browse: Menu > All Sources > Texas Statutes > click on title link.

Time Line with links to online sources of current and historical Texas Laws.
From the Legislative Reference Library of Texas.

Includes links to court cases, law schools, and lawyers in Texas.

Contains the full text of all laws enacted during a legislative session.

Location: JPL 3rd Floor KFT1230.5 .V465 (2023)

Location: JPL 3rd Floor KFT1230 .A2 1876a (v.1-3)

Includes proposed rules.

Timeline with links to online sources of current and historical Texas Laws. From the Legislative Reference Library of Texas.

Consists of documents covering each congressional and legislative session and other documents of significance, including constitutions, select journals from the constitutional conventions, and early colonization laws. Also first 11 volumes available in print in Special Collections.

The legislature authorized the revision of the statutes and eventually adopted two codes—Penal and Criminal Procedure. Often cited as "O.C." These two codes were the first official codified statutes produced by the legislature. From Legislative Reference Center of Texas.

HathiTrust. Also Vol.2
Embracing all penal legislation down to and including the acts of the Legislature of 1915

Beginning in 1879, the Texas Legislature approved the Revised Civil Statutes in addition to the body of criminal statutes. Scans from the Texas State Law Library.

Guide from the Texas State Law Library.

In Print in Rare Books and microfilm.

Location: JPL 3rd Floor KFT1225 .A23 (52nd Legislature 1951 - Current Legislature) (no longer received)
Session laws of Texas. The official bound volumes of the laws enacted during each session. For more information on session laws see Legislative Reference Library of Texas.

Texas State Law Library
Links of text of historical Statutes, Session Laws (1822-2017), Bills (1879-current) and Constitutions.

Texas Session Laws 1879 - 1981. From LLMC Digital.

A compilation of all Texas state agency rules and regulations under 16 titles. Each title represents a category and assigned agencies. Browse current volumes or search all regulations back to 1999.

2000-current
Texas Register Archive: Portal of Texas History (1976-2022)
Online version of the Texas Register. Includes proposed, adopted, withdrawn and emergency rule actions, notices of state agency review of agency rules, governor's appointments, attorney general opinions, and more.

Information from legislative websites for U.S. States and Territories.

From Library of Congress

Contains resources and internet links for both State and Federal codes and constitutions. Availability of historic materials varies by State.

Cornell University Law School.
Links to free internet versions of state constitutions and codes.

Contains the full text of all laws enacted during a legislative session for 50 states, DC, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands.

An index of state legislatures and online legislative history research guides from Indiana University, Bloomington.

National Conference of State Legislation.
Excellent source for legislative information from all 50 states, commonwealths and territories. NCSL is a bipartisan organization.

Find case law by selecting the Case :Law radio button, then select "state cases."