Texas State Government

Allows you to search for various Texas State Agencies that offer health and human services. It will allow searching by agency name, by the type of service needed, or by target population.

This site give the phone numbers and contact information for Texas Health and Human Services Agencies by Texas county.

Includes health information, regulations on obtaining birth/death records, publications on a variety of topics, and laws and regulations.

Information about birth and death certificates, marriage and divorce records, paternity publications, reports, and data.

This site from the THCIC Center for Health Statistics provides various publications including HMO information and hospital discharge statistics.

From Texas Dept. of Health. Create customized statistical reports for birth, death, population and major trauma. For older years (1956-2002), see print: Texas Vital Statistics Texas Documents: Storage Library H 600.8 .V83ST
Access selected reports from 1970-1988 online in HathiTrust
See also: Texas Health Data

This site includes statistics and demographics on cancer in Texas, publications of the Texas Cancer Council, and a gateway to links about cancer. (Formerly Texas Cancer Data Center.)

Publications, statistics, and information on state and local substance abuse programs are included in this web site.

The Texas Water Development Board is in charge of statewide water planning. The site includes regional water plans and biweekly drought status reports.

A clearinghouse for Texas natural resource information. It was created by the Texas Water Development board, but includes information on water, geology, census information, and other natural resource information.

Contains environmental information for citizens, business people, and the news media. It also includes links to TCEQ publications and to current events.

Provides information about Texas parks, historical sites, and about many outdoor activities. Includes information about the Governor's Task force on Conservation.

Provides links to data, news, information, features, and publications created by the United States Geological Survey.

Information about drought and its impact on Texas. Includes who to call for more information and links to other drought web sites.

Fact Sheets from Bureau of Economic Analysis, Regional Economic Accounts, on personal income and gross domestic product, by state, metropolitan statistical area, county, or BEA Economic Area.

Information on business development, tourism, research, job training reimbursement, and financial incentives. Also includes information on special programs such as small business, the border, and rural Texas.

“The Job Classification Index lists all State of Texas job classification descriptions (927)" (Please note: This is not a list of current job vacancies which can be found on the Work in Texas Web site.)

Brief snapshot of areas, including Texas as a whole and by industry, Metropolitan Statistical areas, and Workforce Development Areas.

From the Dallas Federal Reserve.

Search for job openings in Texas. Information on labor and welfare. Details on filing claims.
*Labor Market Information and Other Data links to statistical sites with information on current and historical employment estimates.
*Texas Labor Market Information Statistics contains data collected by the Texas Labor Market Information Department (layoffs, consumer price index, occupational snapshots, etc.) Includes monthly press releases and comparison of Texas unemployment rates to other states.

Agency publications, statistical data, weekly news, and information on the Texas economy.

The TWC is the state government agency which oversees and provides workforce development services to employers and job seekers of Texas.

Employment and wages for employers in Texas who pay Unemployment Insurance taxes.

Access to many publications of the department including statistics on death row and their Connections Newsletter.

A searchable database of sex offenders, information on driver's licenses, Texas gangs, and other public safety information.

Provides links to criminal justice information including: consumer protection, gun control, special safety information for the elderly, and crime victims services.

Includes rules, agency publications, law enforcement links, information about licensing, and information on education for law enforcement officers.

Information about the Youth Commission's programs s and facilities as well as links to information, articles, and statistics.

Information on travel, current and upcoming projects, legislation pertaining to TXDOT, and more.

Information on obtaining and renewing driver's licenses in Texas including renewing online. FAQs.

The institute is a part of the Texas A&M University System and acts as the official research agency for the Texas Department of Transportation. Provides links, publications, and information about transportation.

An educational center focusing on the history and diverse cultures of Texas through exhibits, programs, and publications. There is also a library and photo archives.

A state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities, Humanities Texas conducts and supports public programs in history, literature, philosophy, and other humanities disciplines. Formerly the Texas Council for the Humanities.

TCA supports a diverse and innovative arts community in Texas through arts education, cultural tourism and artist sustainability initiatives.

Texas state agency for historic preservation. Administers the National Register of Historic Places for sites in Texas. Online magazine, The Medallion, for news and advice about preservation projects, Texas’ historic sites, and heritage tourism.

Information for filmmakers including facts about the state, photographs, and information on weather. It also includes information on becoming an extra in a film.

Nearly 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas. Also included are courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state.

A very informative site that includes links to the office's publications, information for indie bands, listings of Texas radio stations, copyright information, information on getting started in the music business, and more.