- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Texas State Government
Texas State Government
State of Texas publications, documents and statistics
Starting Points
- Texas Quick FactsFrom the U.S. Census Bureau, quick access to Texas Population, Housing, Demographic, Economic, and Business data from the Census, American Community Survey, and business and economic surveys.
- Texas Almanac (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowReference, maps and statistical information on the history, culture, politics, climate, economics, and geography of Texas. Includes each Texas County. Each edition has unique topical articles. 2010-current. (EBSCO)
Some content free online from Texas State Historical Commission
Archive online (free): Portal to Texas History (1857-2005)
General Demographic Profile: Texas
Texas Agencies
- Texas Demographic CenterFocal point for the distribution of Census information for Texas. Distributes population estimates and projections as well as other information from the federal & state government and other sources. Monitors demographic and socioeconomic changes in Texas to better inform the Texas executive and legislative branches.
- Texas Secretary of State: Elections DivisionThe Secretary of State is the chief election officer for the State of Texas. Their website includes historical election results by county back to 1992.
Statistics: Texas
- Handbook of Texas OnlineAn online version of the Handbook of Texas. This encyclopedia gives information on the history, geography, and culture of Texas. Look up individual county names for a history of that county. Includes an article on defunct counties.
Also in print: JPL 2nd Floor Info Desk F384 .N48 (The New Handbook of Texas) (6 volumes) - Profiles of Texas: Facts, Figures & Statistics for 941 Populated Places in TexasData on populated communities and counties in Texas for which the U.S. Census provides individual statistics. Includes maps and rankings. For other states see Profiles of America
Also in print.
Location: JPL 3rd Floor and DT HT123.5.T4 P76 (2nd edition)
- Texas State Profile byCall Number: JPL 3rd Floor HC107 .T4 H64 (1985-current)Contains regional data and projections for Texas.
- Texas Health DataFrom Texas Dept. of Health. Create customized statistical reports for birth, death, population and major trauma. For older years (1956-2002), see print: Texas Vital Statistics Texas Documents: Storage Library H 600.8 .V83ST
Access selected reports from 1970-1988 online in HathiTrust
See also: Texas Health Data
Statistics: All States
- Book of the StatesPublished by the Council of State Governments, reports on all aspects of state government including electoral, social, political, educational, financial and economic. Essay format with comparative statistical tables.
- City, State and County Quick Facts (U.S. Census)QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
- State Facts DatabaseState fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, exports for each state, including Texas. County level data links. Provided by the Economic Research Service, USDA.
- Statistical Insight (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess to statistical publications produced by state governments including Texas, independent research organizations and universities. Indexing/abstracting and tabular data from 1973 to the present. Significant full text content from 1995 to present. All documents are available online or on microfiche using SRI number in each record. Inquire at the UTSA Library Information Desk for assistance.
- RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive portfolio of statistics for all 50 states. Topics are organized by broad categories: demographics, health, economics, crime, poverty and social services, income, K-12 education, government, and higher education. Drop down menus for each category allow the user to narrow the topic.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.