- Find Information
- Research Guides
- Consumers
Consumers
Selected resources on demographics, psychographics, consumer behavior and more.
Definitions
Psychographics:
Analysis of consumer lifestyles to create a detailed customer profile. Market researchers conduct psychographic research by asking consumers to agree or disagree with activities, interests, opinions statements. Results of this exercise are combined with geographic (place of work or residence) and demographic (age, education, occupation, etc.) characteristics to develop a more 'lifelike' portrait of the targeted consumer segment.
Lifestyle:
Way of living of individuals, families (households), and societies, which they manifest in coping with their physical, psychological, social, and economic environments on a day-to-day basis. Lifestyle is expressed in both work and leisure behavior patterns and (on an individual basis) in activities, attitudes, interests, opinions, values, and allocation of income. It also reflects people's self image or self concept; the way they see themselves and believe they are seen by the others. Lifestyle is a composite of motivations, needs, and wants and is influenced by factors such as culture, family, reference groups, and social class. The analysis of consumer life styles (called psychographics) is an important factor in determining how consumers make their purchase decisions.
UTSA Databases
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowContains over 1,000 in-depth market research reports by Mintel analysts focusing on consumer goods, travel, health and well-being, technology, retail, and food and drink in the U.S., U.K., and western Europe. Includes market segmentation, size and trends, brand share analysis, supply structure, advertising, retail distribution, consumer lifestyles and attitudes, and more.
- Passport (Euromonitor) This link opens in a new windowProfiles of consumer habits & lifestyles worldwide. Expenditure trends across a range of product categories and services.
- Market Research Academic This link opens in a new windowAggregates market research reports from six publishers covering service industries, consumer goods, food & beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, public sector, technology & media.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using over 65,000 demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area. Also includes more than 4 million Points-of-Interest (POI) and Experian SimmonsLOCAL, a targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets drilled down the the block group level.
- Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowAccessible via Kantar Media SRDS. A market research tool for demographic and segmentation data for 210 Designated Market Areas or counties. Includes reports on market profiles, lifestyle analysis, market potential, demographic concentration, and PRIZM Target Group Concentration. This resource must be accessed via the Chrome browser to generate reports.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowProvides access to recent and relevant statistics and studies from market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and U.S. and international government sources. Topics include business, finance, education, media, politics, society, environment, technology and more. Ready-made tables, graphs, and charts are downloadable in PDF, XLS, PNG, or PPT.
Consumer Segmentation Systems
ESRI Tapestry Segmentation
- ESRI Tapestry SegmentationDivides all U.S. residential neighborhoods into 65 segments based on socioeconomic and demographic characteristics which are then grouped in 12 LifeMode Summary Groups describing lifestyle and lifestage and 11 Urbanization Summary Groups describing affluence and population density. Also includes a ZIP Code look-up tool.
Claritas Segmentations
- Claritas SegmentationsProvides information on Claritas PRIZM Premier (shopping), P$YCLE (financial and technology preferences), and ConneXions (media habits). Case studies on using segmentations. FAQs. ZIP Code Look-Up tool. Formerly known as Nielsen segmentations.
- Claritas 360 My Best SegmentA free ZIP Lookup tool from Claritas.
Consumer Segmentation in UTSA Databases
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowThis web-based mapping and data analysis application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data variables by state, county, city/place, ZIP code, census tract, block group, or custom area. Additional modules include:
1. SimmonsLOCAL, a targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets drilled down the block group level.
2. Claritas PRIZM, a consumer segmentation system which combines demographic, consumer behavior, and geographic data into 66 consumer segments to help marketers identify, understand, and target their customers and prospects.
3.Claritas ConneXions, a consumer segmentation system which classify U.S households into 53 consumer segments based on the technology and communications purchasing and usage preferences.
4. Claritas P$YCLE, a consumer segmentation system which classifies U.S. households into one of 58 consumer segments based on the income-producing assets.
Only a few people can use this database at one time. - Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowAccessible via Kantar Media SRDS. A market research tool for demographic and segmentation data for 210 Designated Market Areas or counties. Includes reports on market profiles, lifestyle analysis, market potential, demographic concentration, and PRIZM Target Group Concentration. This resource must be accessed via the Chrome browser to generate reports.
Consumer Spending
- Consumer Spending: DefinitionSee Investopedia definition and related terms.
- Retail Insight Center (National Retail Federation)Reports on consumer spending, shopping habits, media influence on shopping, and more.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey from the Bureau of Labor StatisticsData on buying habits on American consumers, including their expenditures, income and consumer unit.
Internet Use
- Pew Research on Internet & TechnologySurveys and reports on technology policy, social media, emerging technologies, mobile, user demographics, and more.
- Internet Trends ReportsBy Bond. Mary Meeker has been presenting these reports since 1995. Data on internet users, smartphone users, mobile data, global tablet shipments and usage, internet advertising, online education, and more.
- National Telecommunications and Information Administration - Data Central (U.S. Department of Commerce)Data and analysis on computer and Internet use in the United States
Consumer Trends
- SpringwiseInnovation bulletin