- Find Information
- Research Guides
- OER for COS
OER for COS
Open educational resources for UTSA's College of Science
Librarian
Charles Wu
Contact:
One UTSA Circle
University of Texas at San Antonio
San Antonio, TX 78249-0671
University of Texas at San Antonio
San Antonio, TX 78249-0671
(210)-458-4895
Website
GEO 1013
The Third Planet
Introduction to Oceanography by Publication Date: 2019Introduction to Oceanography is a textbook appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. The book covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region.
Physical Geology by Publication Date: 2015A comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere.
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation by Publication Date: 2015With “Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation”, first and second-year college students are introduced to this expanding new field, comprehensively exploring the essential concepts from every branch of knowledge – including engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities. As sustainability is a multi-disciplinary area of study, the text is the product of multiple authors drawn from the diverse faculty of the University of Illinois: each chapter is written by a recognized expert in the field.
- Earth Science Texts from NAPEcosystems, Conservation, Ocean Studies, GIS, Hydrology - you can download free digital textbooks on all this and more from the Earth Science section of National Academies Press. Price listed is for delivery of paperback copies.
- Introduction to Physical Geology: Open Course LibraryGeology is a core science, along with physics, chemistry, and biology. It uses rigorous methods of inquiry that illuminate the history of the earth and its present-day geological activity. Geology allows us to discover how earth’s history and activity determine the state of the planet and its life forms. The study of geology also shows us how human behavior affects the earth. Topics we will cover include plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, rocks, minerals, geologic time, glaciers, rivers, geologic structures, layers of the earth, and reading maps. This course includes laboratory work and lab credit. This module is part of the Open Course Library, a collection of shareable course materials created for faculty to use in their classes. As part of the Open Course Library this content is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution License which means that you are free to reuse the course in its entirety, edit it and use a your own modified version, or pick out only pieces which can be incorporated into your own course, as long as you credit the original author for their work.
- NASA'S Visible Earth"A searchable directory of images, visualizations and animations of the earth" - Contains useful imagery for instruction in Environmental Science, Oceanography, Remote Sensing, Geology, etc.
GEO 1103
Physical Geology
- Physical Geology by Publication Date: 2015A comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere.
GEO 1111 & 1131
Physical Geology Laboratory & Life Through Time Laboratory
Laboratory Manual for Introductory Geology by Publication Date: 2015This textbook is a comprehensive lab manual for the core curriculum Introductory Geosciences classes with both informational content and laboratory exercises. Topics include basic laws and theories in Geology, the Earth's interior and plate tectonics, water and climate change, igneous rocks and volcanoes, and earthquakes.
Physical Geology by Publication Date: 2019Physical Geology is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada. It is adapted from "Physical Geology" written by Steven Earle for the BCcampus Open Textbook Program.