- Find Information
- Research Guides
- OER for COS
OER for COS
Open educational resources for UTSA's College of Science
Librarian
BIO 1404 & 1414
Biosciences I & II
Anatomy and Physiology by ISBN: 1938168135Publication Date: 2020-02-04A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.
Biology by ISBN: 1938168097Publication Date: 2020-02-08Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today's instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand--and apply--key concepts
Concepts of Biology by ISBN: 1938168119Publication Date: 2020-02-06Concepts of Biology is designed for the introductory biology course for nonmajors taught at most two- and four-year colleges. The scope, sequence, and level of the program are designed to match typical course syllabi in the market. Concepts of Biology includes interesting applications, features a rich art program, and conveys the major themes of biology.
General Biology II by Publication Date: 2016BI102: Survey of Molecular Life and Genetics is intended for one term of the introductory biology course for non-science majors taught at many two- and four-year colleges. The concepts of genetics, as they apply to the study of life, are introduced, including the principles of inheritance, genetics, and gene regulation.
Unfolding the Mystery of Life: Biology Lab Manual for Non-Science Majors by Publication Date: 2019This laboratory manual is intended for use in a biology laboratory course taken by non-science majors, pre-biology, and pre-allied health majors.
Laboratory exercises provide students with experience in basic laboratory skills, gathering and organizing data, measuring and calculating, hypothesis testing, analysis of data, writing, and laboratory safety. The skill sets are designed to promote the development of critical thought and analysis. Students work with living and preserved specimens, and laboratory reagents and equipment.
- Biology Courses from Lumen LearningAnatomy and Physiology I and II, Biology I and II, and a Biology II Lab.
- The Biology ProjectThe Biology Project offers problem sets and tutorials and include topics, such as; cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry. This site also connects you to other resources related to topics.
- Introduction to BiologyThis introductory course/textbook defines biology and its relationship to other sciences. We examine the overarching theories of life from biological research and also explore the fundamental concepts and principles of the study of living organisms and their interaction with the environment.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources Anatomy & PhysiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, PowerPoint slides, iBooks comp copy, assessment bank, and more. Must register for faculty login to access.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources BiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
- Saylor Biology CourseThis resource provides course learning outcomes, biology curriculum, and lecture videos embedded in the site. You can browse through the materials and pick and choose what you can apply to your course.
- Healthcare and MedicineA wonderful video compilation of healthcare and medicine topics: Lungs, The heart, and influenza are few posted. (YouTube)
- Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive LecturesHere you will find videos, animation, lectures, virtual labs, and other useful resources in Neuroscience. Videos range from 25 seconds to 7 minutes.
- Saylor Biology CourseThis resource provides course learning outcomes, biology curriculum, and lecture videos embedded in the site. You can browse through the materials and pick and choose what you can apply to your course.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
BIO 1033
Drugs and Society
- Drugs and the Brain MIT Open CoursewareThis class is a multidisciplinary introduction to pharmacology, neurotransmitters, drug mechanisms, and brain diseases from addiction to schizophrenia. From Abilify® to Zyrtec®, the world is full of fascinating drugs. If you are poisoned by sarin nerve gas, you may be able to save your life by huffing some BZ nerve gas. This class will explain that chemical curiosity, along with a host of other interesting tidbits of pharmacology. The structure of the class interleaves basic concepts with specific examples and entertaining tangents, so it is not loaded with boring abstract theory. In the first class you will learn what a neurotransmitter is, and you will immediately apply that knowledge when we discuss the mechanism of caffeine. The class is highly multidisciplinary, including topics such as patent law, medical ethics, history, and the physics of crack pipes.
- Drugs, Politics & Culture MIT Open CoursewareThis class examines the relationship between a number of mind-altering substances and cultural processes. We look at the relationship between drugs and such phenomena as poverty, religion, technology, inter-generational conflict, colonialism, and global capitalism. We read about the physiological and psychological effects of these substances -- ranging from alcohol to LSD, cocaine and ecstasy -- and ask why different societies prohibit and sanction different drugs. We examine the use of mind-altering substances in a number of "traditional" societies, and follow the development of a global trade in such substances as sugar, coffee, tea, nicotine, cocaine, and marijuana concurrent with the evolution of global capitalism. We look at the use of LSD as a mind-control substance by the CIA and as a mind-altering substance in the 1960's counter-culture, and we look at the rise of Prozac® and Viagra® as popular, if controversial, pharmaceutical products in recent years. Finally, we evaluate America's current drug laws.
- Drugs of Abuse University of Utah Genetic Science Learning CenterIn this animation, the side effects of various drugs of abuse such as alcohol, anabolic steroids, cocaine, dissociative drugs, GHB & rohypnol, hallucinogens, heroin, inhalants, marijuana, MDMA, methamphetamine and nicotine are discussed.
- Drugs Alter the Brain's Reward PathwayThis page includes a diverse amount of information pertaining to how drugs alter the brain’s reward pathway. Students can hear Dr. Glen Hanson discuss how drugs stimulate the dopamine in the brain’s reward system, students can learn how abusing drugs can affect the body, students can learn about the physiology of the high and the brain’s coping mechanisms, students can explore the brains of mice on drugs, specifically methamphetamine and students can learn about how the changes in the brain of a former drug addict exist long after usage.
BIO 1233
Contemporary Biology I
- Anatomy and Physiology by ISBN: 1938168135Publication Date: 2020-02-04A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.
- Biology by ISBN: 1938168097Publication Date: 2020-02-08Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today's instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand--and apply--key concepts
- Concepts of Biology by ISBN: 1938168119Publication Date: 2020-02-06Concepts of Biology is designed for the introductory biology course for nonmajors taught at most two- and four-year colleges. The scope, sequence, and level of the program are designed to match typical course syllabi in the market. Concepts of Biology includes interesting applications, features a rich art program, and conveys the major themes of biology.
- General Biology II by Publication Date: 2016BI102: Survey of Molecular Life and Genetics is intended for one term of the introductory biology course for non-science majors taught at many two- and four-year colleges. The concepts of genetics, as they apply to the study of life, are introduced, including the principles of inheritance, genetics, and gene regulation.
- Biology Course Carnegie MellonThis online course comes from the Open Learning Initiative (OLI) by Carnegie Mellon. This "course is built around six Key Concepts that provide unifying explanations for how and why structures are formed and processes occur throughout your study of biology. Because it is not possible to cover the breadth of modern molecular biology in one semester, an understanding of these Key Concepts will provide a basis for extension of your knowledge to biological systems beyond the specifics covered in this course. One of the major goals of the course therefore is for you to not only learn the definitions of the concepts but also learn to recognize when they are operating the process being studied.
- Biology Courses from Lumen LearningAnatomy and Physiology I and II, Biology I and II, and a Biology II Lab.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources Anatomy & PhysiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, PowerPoint slides, iBooks comp copy, assessment bank, and more. Must register for faculty login to access.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources BiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources Concepts of BiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
BIO 2051 & 2053
Human Anatomy & Physiology I & Human Anatomy and Physiology Laboratory I
- Anatomy and Physiology by ISBN: 1938168135Publication Date: 2020-02-04A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.
Basic Human Anatomy by ISBN: 0721669905Publication Date: 1983-01-01This online text is a revision of the text "Basic Human Anatomy" which was published in 1983 by W.B. Saunders. Copyrights have reverted to Professor O'Rahilly who has been involved in the project to keep this resource available. The site is hosted at Dartmouth with his permission and with the support of the technical resources of Dartmouth Medical School and Dartmouth College." The chapters are divided into topics such as: General Anatomy, The Upper Limb, The Lower Limb, The Thorax, The Abdomen, The Pelvis, The Back, and The Head & Neck. There are quick links to figures, a glossary, and other related material.- Biology by ISBN: 1938168097Publication Date: 2020-02-08Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today's instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand--and apply--key concepts
Anatomy and Physiology I Lab Manual by This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology I at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Grant.
The manual contains labs on cells, histology, the integumentary system, the skeletal system, the nervous system, muscles, and the senses.
- Human PhysiologyHuman Physiology textbook developed with the assistance of pre-nursing students at Utah State University. Covers topics including Homeostasis, Cell Physiology, Integumentary System, Nervous System, Senses, Muscular System, Blood Physiology, Cardiovascular System, Immune System, Urinary System, Respiratory System, Gastrointestinal System, Nutrition, Endocrine System, Male Reproductive System, Female Reproductive System, Pregnancy and Birth, Genetics and Inheritance, Development: Birth through Death
- Biology Course Carnegie MellonThis online course comes from the Open Learning Initiative (OLI) by Carnegie Mellon. This "course is built around six Key Concepts that provide unifying explanations for how and why structures are formed and processes occur throughout your study of biology. Because it is not possible to cover the breadth of modern molecular biology in one semester, an understanding of these Key Concepts will provide a basis for extension of your knowledge to biological systems beyond the specifics covered in this course. One of the major goals of the course therefore is for you to not only learn the definitions of the concepts but also learn to recognize when they are operating the process being studied.
- Biology Courses from Lumen LearningAnatomy and Physiology I and II, Biology I and II, and a Biology II Lab.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources Anatomy & PhysiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, PowerPoint slides, iBooks comp copy, assessment bank, and more. Must register for faculty login to access.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources BiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
BIO 2313 & 2322
Genetics & Genetics Laboratory
Introduction to Genetic Analysis by ISBN: 0716735202Publication Date: 2000-02-04True to its title, the theme of this book is genetic analysis. This theme emphasizes our belief that the best way to understand genetics is by learning how genetic inference is made. On almost every page, we recreate the landmark experiments in genetics and have the students analyze the data and draw conclusions as if they had done the research themselves. This proactive process teaches students how to think like scientists. The modes of inference and the techniques of analysis are the keys to future exploration.
Similarly, quantitative analysis is central to the book because many of the new ideas in genetics, from the original conception of the gene to such modern techniques as SSLP mapping, are based on quantitative analysis. The problems at the end of each chapter provide students with the opportunity to test their understanding in quantitative analyses that effectively simulate the act of doing genetics.
The New Genetics by Publication Date: 2010The New Genetics is a science education booklet explains the role of genes in health and disease, the basics of DNA and its molecular cousin RNA, and new directions in genetic research.
Phylogenetic Comparative Methods by ISBN: 9781719584463Publication Date: 2018-05-23An introduction to statistical analyses of phylogenetic trees using comparative methods.
- The Biology ProjectThe Biology Project offers problem sets and tutorials and include topics, such as; cell biology, chemicals and human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, genetics, molecular biology, and biochemistry. This site also connects you to other resources related to topics.
- Biology Course Carnegie MellonThis online course comes from the Open Learning Initiative (OLI) by Carnegie Mellon. This "course is built around six Key Concepts that provide unifying explanations for how and why structures are formed and processes occur throughout your study of biology. Because it is not possible to cover the breadth of modern molecular biology in one semester, an understanding of these Key Concepts will provide a basis for extension of your knowledge to biological systems beyond the specifics covered in this course. One of the major goals of the course therefore is for you to not only learn the definitions of the concepts but also learn to recognize when they are operating the process being studied.
- Biology Courses from Lumen LearningAnatomy and Physiology I and II, Biology I and II, and a Biology II Lab.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
BIO 3413 & 3422
Advanced Physiology & Advanced Physiology Laboratory
- Anatomy and Physiology by ISBN: 1938168135Publication Date: 2020-02-04A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.
- Biology by ISBN: 1938168097Publication Date: 2020-02-08Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today's instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand--and apply--key concepts
- Basic Human Anatomy by ISBN: 0721669905Publication Date: 1983-01-01This online text is a revision of the text "Basic Human Anatomy" which was published in 1983 by W.B. Saunders. Copyrights have reverted to Professor O'Rahilly who has been involved in the project to keep this resource available. The site is hosted at Dartmouth with his permission and with the support of the technical resources of Dartmouth Medical School and Dartmouth College." The chapters are divided into topics such as: General Anatomy, The Upper Limb, The Lower Limb, The Thorax, The Abdomen, The Pelvis, The Back, and The Head & Neck. There are quick links to figures, a glossary, and other related material.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources Anatomy & PhysiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, PowerPoint slides, iBooks comp copy, assessment bank, and more. Must register for faculty login to access.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources BiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, Powerpoint slides, iBooks comp copy assessment bank, and more. Must register for a faculty login to access.
- Anatomy LiteThis application provides a good reference for people who want to know more about Human Anatomy or study in General Human Anatomy.
- Healthcare and MedicineA wonderful video compilation of healthcare and medicine topics: Lungs, The heart, and influenza are few posted. (YouTube)
- Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive LecturesHere you will find videos, animation, lectures, virtual labs, and other useful resources in Neuroscience. Videos range from 25 seconds to 7 minutes.
- Saylor Biology CourseThis resource provides course learning outcomes, biology curriculum, and lecture videos embedded in the site. You can browse through the materials and pick and choose what you can apply to your course.
BIO 3513 & 3522
Biochemistry & Biochemistry Laboratory
- Anatomy and Physiology by ISBN: 1938168135Publication Date: 2020-02-04A dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and allied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level.
- Biology by ISBN: 1938168097Publication Date: 2020-02-08Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today's instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand--and apply--key concepts
- Human PhysiologyHuman Physiology textbook developed with the assistance of pre-nursing students at Utah State University. Covers topics including Homeostasis, Cell Physiology, Integumentary System, Nervous System, Senses, Muscular System, Blood Physiology, Cardiovascular System, Immune System, Urinary System, Respiratory System, Gastrointestinal System, Nutrition, Endocrine System, Male Reproductive System, Female Reproductive System, Pregnancy and Birth, Genetics and Inheritance, Development: Birth through Death
- Biochemistry Course Carnegie MellonThis is an introductory course in biochemistry, designed for both biology and chemical engineering majors. A consistent theme in this course is the development of a quantitative understanding of the interactions of biological molecules from a structural, thermodynamic, and molecular dynamic point of view. A molecular simulation environment provides the opportunity for you to explore the effect of molecular interactions on the biochemical properties of systems.
- Biology Course Carnegie MellonThis online course comes from the Open Learning Initiative (OLI) by Carnegie Mellon. This "course is built around six Key Concepts that provide unifying explanations for how and why structures are formed and processes occur throughout your study of biology. Because it is not possible to cover the breadth of modern molecular biology in one semester, an understanding of these Key Concepts will provide a basis for extension of your knowledge to biological systems beyond the specifics covered in this course. One of the major goals of the course therefore is for you to not only learn the definitions of the concepts but also learn to recognize when they are operating the process being studied.
- Biology Courses from Lumen LearningAnatomy and Physiology I and II, Biology I and II, and a Biology II Lab.
- OpenStax Instructor Resources Anatomy & PhysiologyIncludes a getting started guide, sample syllabus language, instructor solution guide, supplemental test items, PowerPoint slides, iBooks comp copy, assessment bank, and more. Must register for faculty login to access.
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
BIO 3713
Microbiology
Microbiology by ISBN: 1938168143Publication Date: 2020-01-16Microbiology is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing agreement between OpenStax and the American Society for Microbiology Press.
- MIT Open Courseware Fundamentals of BiologyFundamentals of Biology focuses on the basic principles of biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, and recombinant DNA. Course format includes, lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new windowJoVE features a multidisciplinary video collection dedicated to both research and education in the sciences. JoVE Research offers peer-reviewed video articles that visually present scientific research methodologies and findings and includes JoVE Journal and JoVE Encyclopedia of Experiments. JoVE Education delivers simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations that teach fundamental research techniques through JoVE Core, JoVE Science Education, and JoVE Lab Manual.
- Healthcare and MedicineA wonderful video compilation of healthcare and medicine topics: Lungs, The heart, and influenza are few posted. (YouTube)
- Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) BioInteractive LecturesHere you will find videos, animation, lectures, virtual labs, and other useful resources in Neuroscience. Videos range from 25 seconds to 7 minutes.
- Saylor Biology CourseThis resource provides course learning outcomes, biology curriculum, and lecture videos embedded in the site. You can browse through the materials and pick and choose what you can apply to your course.
BIO 4033
Conservation Biology
Conservation Biology in Sub-Saharan Africa by ISBN: 9781783747528Publication Date: 2019Conservation Biology in Sub-Saharan Africa comprehensively explores the challenges and potential solutions to key conservation issues in Sub-Saharan Africa.
Easy to read, this lucid and accessible textbook includes fifteen chapters that cover a full range of conservation topics, including threats to biodiversity, environmental laws, and protected areas management, as well as related topics such as sustainability, poverty, and human-wildlife conflict. This rich resource also includes a background discussion of what conservation biology is, a wide range of theoretical approaches to the subject, and concrete examples of conservation practice in specific African contexts. Strategies are outlined to protect biodiversity whilst promoting economic development in the region.
