Art & Art History
-
Art Curriculum Resources: The MetOpen Access curriculum resources from The Met. Resources on the following topics: Byzantine World, Islamic Art, Auguste Rodin, Greek Art, Medieval Art, Chinese Garden Court at the Met, Roman Art, African Art, Art of Ancient Egypt, Art of Renaissance Europe, Art of South and Southeast Asia, Art of the Ancient Near East, and Arts of Korea.
-
Introduction to Art: Design, Context & Meaning
by
Publication Date: 2016Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning offers a comprehensive introduction to the world of Art. Authored by four USG faculty members with advance degrees in the arts, this textbooks offers up-to-date original scholarship. It includes over 400 high-quality images illustrating the history of art, its technical applications, and its many uses.
Combining the best elements of both a traditional textbook and a reader, it introduces such issues in art as its meaning and purpose; its meaning and purpose; its structure, material, and form; and its diverse effects on our lives. Its digital nature allows students to follow links to applicable sources and videos, expanding the students’ educational experiences beyond the textbook. Introduction to Art: Design, Context, and Meaning provides a new and free alternative to traditional textbooks, making it an invaluable resource in our modern age of technology and advancement.
-
Student's Guide to Italian Renaissance ArchitectureFree interactive online e-book discusses major renaissance buildings by both architect and type, including background on ancient and medieval buildings. Highly illustrated. User must agree to license for full access.
-
Open Textbook LibraryTextbooks that can be downloaded and printed for no cost.
-
Smarthistory"Smarthistory.org is a free award-winning multimedia web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook. We are interested in delivering the narratives of art history using the read-write web's interactivity and capacity for authoring and remixing. Publishers are adding multimedia to their textbooks, but unfortunately they are doing so in proprietary, password-protected adjunct websites. These are weak because they maintain an old model of closed and protected content, eliminating Web 2.0 possibilities for the open collaboration and open communities that our students now use and expect. In Smarthistory, we have aimed for reliable content and a delivery model that is entertaining and occasionally even playful."
-
Art History Teaching Resources - AHTRAn online repository that includes lesson plans, OER activities, resources on the scholarship of teaching and learning, and more.
-
Open Arts ArchiveAn open access platform which provides over 50 free films to support the teaching of Art History.
-
ArtxHistoryArtxHistory is an education resource of commonly available images, videos, mini-lectures and scholarship of the decades which influenced or defined the mid-century through contemporary art. Most links are concise in content, of prevalent works of art in the early or mature stage of an artist's career, sourced from museum, academic, journalistic and for profit institutions. ArtxHistory is offered as an alternative to a textbook, relieving users of cost, as quality content online develops. The core intent of ArtxHistory is to offer an art history that replaces the dominant white, male, heteronormative, advantaged, celebrity narratives for a more inclusive history balanced with the work of women, artists of color, LGBTQIA+ persons, intersectional makers, and the self-taught. Reflected by the diaspora, America, and particularly New York based practices, are an overriding locus of investigation. While pointing toward a decolonized art history, ArtxHistory is not comprehensive nor free of biases. Artists and scholars are welcome to use and facilitate in the development of ArtxHistory for a more open, equitable, engaged classroom.
-
Modernism and the Spiritual in Russian Art: New Perspectives
by
Publication Date: 2017"This diverse collection of essays introduces new and stimulating approaches to the ongoing debate as to how Russian artistic modernism engaged with questions of spirituality in the late nineteenth to mid-twentieth centuries. Ten chapters from emerging and established voices offer new perspectives on Kandinsky and other familiar names, such as Kazimir Malevich, Mikhail Larionov, and Natalia Goncharova, and introduce less well-known figures, such as the Georgian artists Ucha Japaridze and Lado Gudiashvili, and the craftswoman and art promoter Aleksandra Pogosskaia.." -
Women and Migration: Responses in Art and HistoryPublication Date: 2019"The essays in this book chart how women’s profound and turbulent experiences of migration have been articulated in writing, photography, art and film. As a whole, the volume gives an impression of a wide range of migratory events from women’s perspectives, covering the Caribbean Diaspora, refugees and slavery through the various lenses of politics and war, love and family."
-
Search for "Art" or "Art history" to find over 1000 resources. Refine by type, level, subject area, and more.
-
Courtauld Books OnlineA series of online scholarly books published by The Courtauld Institute of Art. Browse online or download individual chapters or the entire book in PDF.
-
Getty Research PortalProvides free and open access to downloadable digitized resources for the printed literature of art, including fundamental texts, rare books, exhibition catalogues, auction catalogues, and related literature. Nearly 40 major arts and cultural institutions from around the world have contributed content to the Portal.
-
Guggenheim & Whitney Art Resources from the mid-20th CenturyDigitized Highlights from the Collections of Hilla Rebay and Juliana Force - A Collaborative Project Between the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and the Whitney Museum of American Art. More than 600 rare digitized texts viewable in PDF format. Locate items by browsing alphabetical list.
-
Guggenheim Museum Publications OnlineFree digital editions of books and catalogues that document the exhibitions and collections of the Guggenheim Museum.
-
Whitney Museum of American Art PublicationsA collaboration between the Whitney and the Internet Archive makes these publications freely available online.
-
Art Institute of Chicago Digital PublicationsFree digital publications including exhibition catalogues that can be read online. Interactive e-pubs.
-
Canadian Online Art Book ProjectA digital library of books about Canadian artists. Read online or download. Links to other resources.
-
Getty Publications Virtual LibraryMore than 300 Getty publications available online for free download.
-
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) PublicationsA collaboration between LACMA and the Internet Archive makes these exhibition catalogues freely available online.
-
MetPublicationsMore than 500 books published by the Metropolitan Museum of Art freely available in full text online.
-
MoMA Exhibition HistoryDigitized documentation from exhibitions held at MoMA from 1929 to present. Includes photographs, press releases, checklists, and in some instances publications such as the exhibition catalogue.
-
National Gallery of Art Washington Free Backlist TitlesBrowse or download free digitized exhibition catalogues in PDF from the National Gallery of Art publication archives. See the "Online Editions" and "Systematic Catalogs" sections of the page.
-
Toledo Museum of Art PublicationsA collaboration between the Toledo Museum of Art and the Internet Archive makes these exhibition catalogues freely available online.
-
Wildenstein Institute PublicationsDigitized catalogues raisonnés on a wide range of French artists, with a strong focus on 18th and 19th-century art. Some in English, some in French.
-
MIT Open Courseware Music & Theater ArtsMIT Open Courseware offers an extensive series of online courses. Course format generally includes lecture videos, interactive concept quizzes (solution key), problem sets, terms and definitions, suggested topics and links, and exams (with solution key).
-
Art History @ Saylor
A series of courses on art history developed by professors for Saylor.org. -
Art Appreciation Course Lumen LearningArt Appreciation course from Lumen Learning. Instructor resources available with login. Course is CC-BY but cannot be auto-imported into Canvas.
-
Khan Academy Art HistoryKhan Academy offers a variety of short videos on art history topics. (Scroll down to the Browse Our Library heading to find the links.)
-
Parker Library on the Web This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of more than 550 rare illuminated medieval and Renaissance manuscripts from the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, UK. Includes bibliographical references and page-level annotations. Sixth to sixteenth centuries.
-
process.arts"process.arts.ac.uk is an open online resource sharing day-to-day practice and research of art, design and media. The site encourages users to openly share and use creative commons licensed content and support others in doing the same."
-
Smarthistory"Smarthistory is the leading open educational resource for art history. We make high-quality introductory art history content freely available to anyone, anywhere. Smarthistory is a platform for the discipline where art historians contribute in their areas of expertise and learners come from across the globe. We offer nearly 500 videos and these are being translated into dozens of languages."
-
The Guggenheim MuseumThe Guggenheim offers art catalogs, essays on art history and more all freely available online.
-
The Metropolitan Museum of Art presents a Timeline of Art History"This site gives a history of art, worldwide. It contains biographical and societal information on the artists when available. It has examples of the art pieces (since the website is sponsored by a museum, it has many of the pieces itself), with time and place of origin, the owner's name, and the fabric/material it is made of. It separates topics by country/empires."
-
Art Images for College TeachingOver 2000 images for use in college classes. "Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community."
-
Pictify"Pictify is the global home for sharing your favourite artworks, seeing other people’s, adding your comments, and building your own collection of
favourite paintings, sculptures, photography, drawings, or any other art medium."
-
Finding ImagesGuide on finding images and art at the UTSA Libraries and beyond.
-
OpenverseAll Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.