Geography
-
World Regional Geography: People, Places, and GlobalizationAvailable for a nominal cost from Flat World Knowledge, this text is designed for students to experience and study as much of the world as possible within a limited amount of time.
-
The Physical Environment: An Introduction to Physical GeographyThis is an interactive textbook on principles of The Physical Environment. The Physical Environment is one of the first, totally online physical geography learning environments. The Physical Environment combines text, images, audio and video programs to deliver the subject matter content. A multimedia online environment enables new and different ways to interact with textbook content.
-
Courses from Penn StateThe Department of Geography at Penn State offers a variety of course material online in several subject areas.
-
World Regional Geography Saylor CourseWorld Regional Geography is concerned with the physical and human characteristics that make the regions of our world distinctive.
-
Internet for GeographyThis online tutorial was created to develop students' internet research skills, with specific reference to geographical information and topics. The tutorial contains a wide range of useful links to online learning materials, textbooks, multimedia, maps, digital data sets and more.
-
Alexander Street This link opens in a new windowCross-search a multidisciplinary suite of streaming video and audio, music scores, film scripts and text collections. Videos can be linked or embedded and include full, searchable transcripts. Use Advanced Search to specify collections or choose parameters such as language or format.
Collections include:
- Academic Video Online: Premium
- Anthropology Online
- Border and Migration Studies Online
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
- Early Encounters in North America
- Engineering Case Studies
- Film Scripts Online
- Filmakers Library Online
- Music and Performing Arts Online
- PBS Video Online
- African American Music Reference
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
- Theatre in Context Collection
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business & Economics, Science & Engineering, Technology, and World Languages, as well as films on current newsworthy issues. Includes distributors such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences, BBC Worldwide Learning, NOVA, PBS, and HBO.
-
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Digitally streams thousands of popular films and documentaries, as well as educational videos in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences, Business, and K-12 Education. Includes distributors such as PBS, Criterion Collection, Film Movement, Flicker Alley, and California Newsreel.
-
Stanford Geospatial CenterThe Stanford Geospatial Center has gathered a series of websites that offer GIS Data to download for free. The data is classified per geographic extent and grouped by theme for each extent.