- Find Information
- Research Guides
Find high quality images for all disciplines in UTSA databases and selected online resources.
- Free Collections Online
- Image Databases
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Subjects: Art & Art History, History, Languages, Modern, Newspapers
Featured Online Resources
Photo credit: Dorothea Lange, Migrant Mother, Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C., [LC-DIG-fsa-8b29516].
This image is from the Farm Security Administration Collection, one of the many collections available from the Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog.
Images for Presentations
Do you need some free stock images to illustrate your presentation? Try these websites or the ones in the boxes below. Be sure to verify that an image is in the public domain or possesses a Creative Commons (CC) license. And please remember to always include proper attributions for any images you use.
- UnsplashImages licensed to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use for free.
- OpenverseAll Openverse content is under a Creative Commons license or is in the public domain.
- PexelsHigh quality public domain images.
- PixabayRoyalty free stock photos and video.
- Flickr CommonsPublic collection of photographs and art works in the Public Domain drawn from museum and archival collections around the world. Click on the "Participating Institutions" link to find works from a particular museum, archive, or library.
- Google ImagesTo find images for a presentation that are free of copyright, search for an image. Then select: Tools > Usage Rights. Select the appropriate reuse filter.
- Noun ProjectGreat for finding icons.
Selected Online Image Collections
- Digital Public Library of AmericaExplore more than 8 million items from libraries, archives, and museums. This national network brings together digitized and born-digital content from digital libraries across the country into a single access point.
- Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse SetsItems from the Library of Congress that are free to use and reuse. The Library believes that this content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use. Organized by theme.
- Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online CatalogIncludes images and photographs from the Farm Security Administration, Historic American Building Survey, African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exposition, Herblock Collection of Cartoons, World War I posters, and more. Consult an item's catalog record for rights information. Many are unrestricted.
- New York Public Library Public Domain CollectionsOver 180,000 items from the NYPL Digital Collections that are in the public domain.
- Historic American Buildings SurveySearch for a monument such as the Lincoln Memorial and then on the results page click the limit box for Surveys to find architecture plans or drawings. Free website from the Library of Congress.
- ICE Engineering Image LibraryHistoric engineering photos, illustrations and drawings dating from the 1700s from the Institution of Civil Engineers. Search all images or browse by category, including structures and buildings, transport, water, people, and more.
- LIFE Photo ArchiveSearch millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, many never before published, stretching from the 1750s to today.
- Artstor Public CollectionsA free, open-access library of images from a variety of participating institutions. Search and browse collections with tools to zoom, print, and export images. Digital collections of art, photography, historical documents, etc. Browse collections to see all that is available.
- Smithsonian Institution CollectionsSearch images from the Smithsonian's museums, archives and libraries. Browse collections by topic, taxonomy, place, culture, etc.
- VADS - The Online Resource for Visual ArtsImage collections from institutional sources include art, design, architecture, fashion, political prints and war posters, women's suffrage, and more. UK-based.
- Wellcome ImagesDigital images from the Wellcome Library, London, comprised of unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
- WorldImagesApproximately 100,000 images from the California State University IMAGE Project. Search by keyword or browse by collections.
Museum Sites for Images
- National Gallery of Art ImagesNGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art in Washington, DC. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. More than 20,000 images are available free of charge for download and use.
- The Art Institute of Chicago CollectionMore than 52,000 high quality digital images from the collection of the Art Institute of Chicago. Images are made freely available under a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.
- Google Arts & CultureExplore museum collections from around the world and view hundreds of artworks up close at amazing zoom levels. Take virtual tours, learn about art styles and movements, and explore artists, themes, and cultures. Free interactive website.
- Getty Search GatewayThe Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. More than 2 million items.
- The Getty Search Gateway - Open Content ImagesThis search is a subset of the Getty's larger Search Gateway and focuses only on Open Content Images. Currently, there are more than 100,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. What is Open Content? These are available to the public for use without fees or restriction. Includes many different types of images, including drawings, watercolors, artist's sketchbooks, and architectural drawings.
Images by Subject
- Digital Images Collections GuideA subject list of quality digital image collections on almost any topic imaginable! Most collections are freely available. Collections with a "lock" icon are subscription only. Check the UTSA Libraries' list of databases to see if we subscribe to any that are "locked."